NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who are the Super Bowl MVPs throughout history?

Kansas City Chiefs star quarterback Patrick Mahomes won the MVP at Super Bowl LVII as he played despite ankle issues to win against the Philadelphia Eagles.

La razón por la cual Patrick Mahomes tiene un lugar seguro en el Hall Of Fame

Quarterback Patrick Mahomes was named Super Bowl MVP for the second time in 2023, as he led the Kansas City Chiefs to their third Super Bowl victory, narrowly beating Jalen Hurts and the Philadelphia Eagles 38-35. Mahomes won the award just days after being named NFL MVP.

Most Valuable Players: all-time records

Most Valuable Player in a Super Bowl is an outstanding individual award available for an American footballer; over the course of 57 Super Bowls, six players have been named more than once.

If you want to be named MVP in a Super Bowl, it helps to be a quarterback. A lot. More than half of the MVPs in the Super Bowl’s history have been QBs, with all the players who have been named more than once being quarterbacks.


Now-retired legend Tom Brady holds the record for most awards as Super Bowl MVP, having been named on five occasions.

  1. Super Bowl XXXVI vs St Louis Rams (Patriots won 20-17)
  2. Super Bowl XXXVIII vs Carolina Panthers (Patriots won 32-29)
  3. Super Bowl XLIX vs Seattle Seahawks (Patriots won 28-24)
  4. Super Bowl LI vs Atlanta Falcons (Patriots won in OT 34-28)
  5. Super Bowl LV vs Kansas City Chiefs (Buccaneers won 31-9).

Brady also won the Super Bowl twice more, where he was not named MVP: Super Bowl XXXIX vs Philadelphia Eagles, won by the Patriots 24-21, with wide receiver Deion Brach being named MVP for his 133 receiving yards and 11 catches, a Super Bowl record; and, Super Bowl LIII vs Los Angeles Rams, won by the Patriots 13-3, with wide receiver Julian Edelman being named MVP for his 141 receiving yards.

Super Bowl LVII MVP odds

As usual, the two quarterbacks were the favorites to be named MVP at Super Bowl LVII, with Patrick Mahomes as a slight favorite. He was quoted at +130, while Jalen Hurts was next up, at +145.

Outside the quarterbacks, the Kansas City Chiefs’ tight end Travis Kelce was at +1,400, and Philadelphia Eagles wide receiver Tyreek Hill and Miles Sanders both follow at +2,500. Check out Mahomes’ stats via the team at SofaScore.

Super Bowl LVII MVP Patrick Mahomes
Full screen
Super Bowl LVII MVP Patrick MahomesAS English

Chiefs MVPs

Aside from Mahomes, there is one other Chiefs player who was named Super Bowl MVP: and back in 1969 at Super Bowl IV, quarterback Len Dawson was awarded the trophy for his performance in the Chiefs’ 23-7 win over the Minnesota Vikings.

MVPs on the losing side

Only one player has been named Super Bowl MVP from the losing team: Chuck Howley, in the Cowboy’s 16-13 defeat to the Baltimore Colts. He recorded two interceptions but the decision was widely felt to be an odd one, with the Colts’ tight end John Mackey recording two catches for 80 yards, including a 75-yard touchdown in the second quarter.

Most times named MVP

Tom Brady, as noted above, tops the list with five Super Bowl MVP Trophies. He’s followed by five other quarterbacks who have recorded two or more:

Joe Montana, San Francisco 49ers: 3 (XVI, XIX, XXIV)

Terry Bradshaw, Pittsburgh Steelers: 2 (XIII, XIV)

Eli Manning, New York Giants: 2 (XLIII, XLVI)

Bart Starr, Green Bay Packers: 2 (I, II)

Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs (LIV, LVII)

MVPs by position

Quarterback: 32

Running back: 7

Wide receiver: 8

Linebacker: 4

Defensive end: 2

Safety: 2

Cornerback: 1

Defensive tackle: 1

Kick returner: 1 (Desmond Howard, who returned a kickoff 99 yards for a touchdown and celebrated by dancing the robot)

Joint MVP Trophies

On one occasion the MVP was awarded jointly, in Super Bowl XII, when the Dallas Cowboys’ Harvey Martin (defensive end) and Randy White (defensive tackle) picked up the trophy.

Full list of Super Bowl MVPs

  • Super Bowl I — QB Bart Starr, Green Bay
  • Super Bowl II — QB Bart Starr, Green Bay
  • Super Bowl III — QB Joe Namath, N.Y. Jets
  • Super Bowl IV — QB Len Dawson, Kansas City
  • Super Bowl V — LB Chuck Howley, Dallas
  • Super Bowl VI — QB Roger Staubach, Dallas
  • Super Bowl VII — S Jake Scott, Miami
  • Super Bowl VIII — RB Larry Csonka, Miami
  • Super Bowl IX — RB Franco Harris, Pittsburgh
  • Super Bowl X — WR Lynn Swann, Pittsburgh
  • Super Bowl XI — WR Fred Biletnikoff, Oakland
  • Super Bowl XII — DT Randy White and DE Harvey Martin, Dallas
  • Super Bowl XIII — QB Terry Bradshaw, Pittsburgh
  • Super Bowl XIV — QB Terry Bradshaw, Pittsburgh
  • Super Bowl XV — QB Jim Plunkett, Oakland
  • Super Bowl XVI — QB Joe Montana, San Francisco
  • Super Bowl XVII — RB John Riggins, Washington
  • Super Bowl XVIII — RB Marcus Allen, L.A. Raiders
  • Super Bowl XIX — QB Joe Montana, San Francisco
  • Super Bowl XX — DE Richard Dent, Chicago
  • Super Bowl XXI — QB Phil Simms, N.Y. Giants
  • Super Bowl XXII — QB Doug Williams, Washington
  • Super Bowl XXIII — WR Jerry Rice, San Francisco
  • Super Bowl XXIV — QB Joe Montana, San Francisco
  • Super Bowl XXV — RB Ottis Anderson, N.Y. Giants
  • Super Bowl XXVI — QB Mark Rypien, Washington
  • Super Bowl XXVII — QB Troy Aikman, Dallas
  • Super Bowl XXVIII — RB Emmitt Smith, Dallas
  • Super Bowl XXIX — QB Steve Young, San Francisco
  • Super Bowl XXX — CB Larry Brown, Dallas
  • Super Bowl XXXI — KR-PR Desmond Howard, Green Bay
  • Super Bowl XXXII — RB Terrell Davis, Denver
  • Super Bowl XXXIII — QB John Elway, Denver
  • Super Bowl XXXIV — QB Kurt Warner, St. Louis
  • Super Bowl XXXV — LB Ray Lewis, Baltimore
  • Super Bowl XXXVI — QB Tom Brady, New England
  • Super Bowl XXXVII — S Dexter Jackson, Tampa Bay
  • Super Bowl XXXVIII — QB Tom Brady, New England
  • Super Bowl XXXIX — WR Deion Branch, New England
  • Super Bowl XL — WR Hines Ward, Pittsburgh
  • Super Bowl XLI — QB Peyton Manning, Indianapolis
  • Super Bowl XLII — QB Eli Manning, N.Y. Giants
  • Super Bowl XLIII — WR Santonio Holmes, Pittsburgh
  • Super Bowl XLIV — QB Drew Brees, New Orleans
  • Super Bowl XLV — QB Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay
  • Super Bowl XLVI — QB Eli Manning, N.Y. Giants
  • Super Bowl XLVII — QB Joe Flacco, Baltimore
  • Super Bowl XLVIII — LB Malcolm Smith, Seattle
  • Super Bowl XLIX — QB Tom Brady, New England
  • Super Bowl 50 — LB Von Miller, Denver
  • Super Bowl LI — QB Tom Brady, New England
  • Super Bowl LII — QB Nick Foles, Philadelphia
  • Super Bowl LIII — WR Julian Edelman, New England
  • Super Bowl LIV — QB Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City
  • Super Bowl LV - QB Tom Brady, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • Super Bowl LVI - WR Cooper Kupp, Los Angeles Rams
  • Super Bowl LVII - QB Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?