Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

TENNIS

French Open: When is Nadal’s first round match against Zverev? How to watch online and on TV

Everything you need to know if you want to watch 14-time champion Nadal face fourth seed Zverev in a blockbuster first-round match.

Everything you need to know if you want to watch 14-time champion Nadal face fourth seed Zverev in a blockbuster first-round match.
YOAN VALATEFE

Rafael Nadal will take on fourth seed Alexander Zverev in the stand-out clash of the first round of the 2024 French Open at Roland Garros, a tournament the Spaniard has famously won on 14 occasions.

Nadal fit but form questionable

The 37-year-old has long since made history in the clay court competition, which he last won in 2022, since when he has missed extended periods of action through injury. This, of course, looks almost certain to be Nadal’s last appearance in Paris, with romantics hoping he finishes on a high with another title.

The chances of that happening, however, look to be slim, following relatively early defeats in Barcelona (round of 32), Madrid (round of 16) and Rome (round of 64).

By contrast, first-round opponent Zverev, 10 year Nadal’s junior, comes into the tournament high on confidence. The German clinched his 22nd career title last week in in the Italian Open, where he defeated Taylor Fritz in the quarter-finals. Having reached the semi-finals in each of the last three years at Roland Garros, he will hope he doesn’t run into a rejuvenated Nadal in the first round.

When does the French Open 2024 start?

The French Open runs from Sunday 26 May to Sunday 9 June in the men’s and women’s categories, with the men’s and women’s main draw games starting on Sunday 26 May at 5 a.m. ET / 2 a.m. PT.

How can I watch the French Open 2024?

If you are in the US, you can watch the French Open on NBC, Tennis Channel and Peacock.

You can also watch the tournament live on FuboTV (free trial available).

What time does Zverev against Nadal at the French Open 2024 start?

The blockbuster first-round clash between Alexander Zverev and Rafael Nadal is scheduled for Monday 27 May. It will be the last match in the session which begins at 12pm CET (6am ET / 3am PT), so it can realistically be expected to begin somewhere around two-and-a-half hours later, with two ladies’ singles matches taking place on Philippe-Chartier beforehand.

How can I watch Zverev against Nadal at the French Open 2024?

With NBC, Tennis Channel and Peacock sharing coverage of the French Open 2024, knowing exactly which match is being shown on which channel is trickier than you might expect. NBC have, however, put together this handy guide to know where you can follow the tournament when.

If the match between Zverev and Nadal starts at the expected time on Monday 27 May (around 8:30am ET / 5:30am PT), it will be broadcast on Tennis Channel.

In any case, you can also watch a live stream of Zverev against Nadal on fuboTV, which offers users a free trial

Zverev and Nadal faced each other in the semi-finals of the 2022 French Open, which the German was unable to complete after suffering a serious ankle injury near the end of the second set.

Rules