Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


2023 Spanish Super Cup: when is it? Who plays who? How does it work?

Everything you need to know about the 2023 Spanish Super Cup; Real Madrid, Barcelona, Real Betis and Valencia are in action.

Soccer Football - Spanish Super Cup Final - Real Madrid v Athletic Bilbao - King Fahd International Stadium, Riyadh, Saudia Arabia - January 16, 2022 Real Madrid's Luka Modric lifts the trophy as they celebrate winning the Spanish Super Cup REUTERS/A

We’re only in the second week of January but the first trophy of the year in Spanish soccer is already up for grabs! Looking for a crash course in the Spanish Super Cup/Supercopa de España? Well, you’ve come to the right place. Here’s everything you need to know.

When does the 2023 Spanish Super Cup take place?

The 2023 Spanish Super Cup starts on Wednesday, 11 January 2023 and finishes on Sunday, 15 January 2023.

Where is the 2023 Spanish Super Cup taking place?

For the third year out of four, the Spanish Super Cup will be held in Saudi Arabia. As was the case last year, when Real Madrid won the trophy, every match in the tournament will be played at the King Fahd Stadium in Riyadh.

In June 2021, the Spanish Federation agreed a deal worth a reported $120 million to have Saudi Arabia host the tournament until 2029. The move drew criticism from almost all quarters, with Amnesty International scathing of the federation’s “collaboration in this ‘whitewashing’ of the image of the Saudi Arabia”, where it said there had been very little improvement in the “the systematic abuse of homosexuals and continued discrimination against women.”

Speaking in 2019, when the first ‘Saudi Arabia Spanish Super Cup’ took place, LaLiga President Javier Tebas was also unhappy, “not only for human rights” but also because “they’ve been pirating Spanish and European football for two years through a paid television backed by the Saudi Arabian government.” Athletic Club midfielder Raúl García, who played in the tournament in 2021 and 2022, said Spanish fans had been “forgotten”.

Which teams have qualified for the 2023 Spanish Super Cup?

The tournament features the winners and runners-up of LaLiga and the winners and runners-up of the Copa del Rey in 2021-22. The four qualified teams this year are:

  • Real Madrid (2021-22 LaLiga winners)
  • Barcelona (2021-22 LaLiga runners-up)
  • Real Betis (2021-22 Copa del Rey winners)
  • Valencia (2021-22 Copa del Rey runners-up)

What is the format?

Between 1983 and 2017, the Spanish Super Cup was a two-legged final between the winners of LaLiga and the Copa del Rey during the previous season. There were a few exceptions, with no finals held in 1986 or 1987, while in Athletic Club and Real Madrid were automatically presented with the trophy in 1984 and 1989 respectively having won both competitions. In subsequent years, the Copa del Rey runners-up played in the Spanish Super Cup if any ream did the league and cup double.

After a one-legged final between league and cup winner in 2018, the current format was introduced in time for the 2019-20 tournament. Two semi-finals will be followed the final. There will be no third-place playoff.

When are the semi-finals of the 2023 Spanish Super Cup?

The semi-finals of the 2023 Spanish Super Cup are:

Real Madrid vs Valencia: Wednesday, 11 January, kick-off at 2pm ET

Real Betis vs Barcelona: Thursday, 12 January, kick-off at 2pm ET

When is the final of the 2023 Spanish Super Cup?

The winners of the two semi-finals will meet in the final on Sunday, 15 January 2023, kick-off at 2pm ET.

Where can I watch the 2023 Spanish Super Cup?

In you’re based in the United States, you can watch the semi-finals of the 2023 Spanish Super Cup on ESPN+, ESPN2 and ESPN Deportes.

The final will be shown on ABC, ESPN+ and ESPN Deportes.

Watch the 2023 Spanish Super Cup live on ESPN+

Who has won the Spanish Super Cup the most times?

Barcelona lead the way on 13 Spanish Super Cup victories, just ahead of arch-rivals Real Madrid on 12. The ‘big two’ are streets ahead of anyone else in the competition, with Athletic Club and Deportivo La Coruña next on three wins.