NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Liga MX: Number of titles won by Mexican clubs

Los Tuzos equal Pumas and Tigres with seven titles, and sit in seventh place on the list of title-winners.

 The Champion trophy during the game Pachuca vs Toluca, corresponding to second leg of the great final of the Torneo Apertura 2022 of the Liga BBVA MX, at Hidalgo Stadium, on October 30, 2022.


Trofeo de Campeon durante el partido Pachuca vs Toluca, correspondiente a la vuelta de la gran final del Torneo Apertura 2022 de la Liga BBVA MX, en el Estadio Hidalgo, el 30 de octubre de 2022.
David Leah

Pachuca defeated Toluca 8-2 on aggregate and were crowned champions of the Apertura 2022 in Liga MX for the seventh time in their history. After clinching the title, Los Tuzos moved up one place on the list of the most successful teams in Mexican football, equalling Pumas and Tigres with seven titles. They are now just one title behind León and two behind Cruz Azul.

List of Liga MX champions

TeamNumber of titles
Club América13
Cruz Azul9
Santos Laguna6
Monarcas Morelia1
RC España1
CF Asturias1
CD Tampico1
CD Marte1
CD Oro1
Tecos FC1

América with most titles in Mexico

América lead the way with 13 top-flight titles, followed by Chivas with 12. Toluca remain in third place with 10. Los Diablos Rojos missed the chance to close the gap on Guadalajara and Las Águilas and will have to wait to go in search of their 11th title.

Below them is Cruz Azul with nine and León with eight titles. Both Los Celestes and Los Esmeraldas have managed to lift the trophy in the last two years and remain in the top five. Below them, there is a three-way tie between Pumas, Tigres and Pachuca. These three teams have a total of seven titles after the Apertura 2022. Los Regiomontanos last won a title in the Clausura 2019, while Universidad Nacional have not been crowned champions since the Clausura 2011.

They are followed by Santos Laguna and Monterrey with six and five titles respectively. The list is completed by three teams with three titles and three more with two titles. At the bottom, there are eight clubs with one trophy in the top flight, the only ones which are still in existence are Xolos de Tijuana and Tampico Madero.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?