NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Lionel Messi and Carlos Alcaraz among the winners at the Laureus World Sports Awards

Messi became the first person to win in both the individual and team categories as World Cup winners Argentina were voted Team of the Year.

Messi became the first person to win in both the individual and team categories as World Cup winners Argentina were voted Team of the Year.

Lionel Messi has beaten off competition from the likes of Steph Curry, Kylian Mbappé, Rafael Nadal and Max Verstappen to take the Laureus World Sports Award for Sportsman of the Year for 2022. Spanish sensation Carlos Alcaraz was the other high-profile winner, picking up the award for Breakthrough of the Year.

What are the Laureus Sports Awards?

The Laureus World Sports Awards take place every year, honouring both individuals and teams for their sporting achievements during the previous calendar year. They were established in 1999, by the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, which supports more than 160 community projects in over countries around the world.

Messi’s World Cup win

After an illustrious career at the highest level of the world soccer, in which he had won seven Ballon d’Ors, 11 league titles and four Champions Leagues, Messi finally got his hands on the World Cup at the fifth time of asking in December, leading Argentina to their first victory in the competition since 1986.

The Paris Saint-Germain star became the first person to pick up the individual award and be involved in the team equivalent, with the Argentinian national soccer team being rewarded for their historic performance in Qatar.

Alcaraz: tennis’ new golden boy

Alcaraz, who only turned 20 a matter of days ago, won five singles titles on the ATP tour in 2022, including his first ever Grand Slam at the US Open at Flushing Meadows. He has already equalled that tally in the first four (and a bit months) of 2023, triumphing in the Madrid Open final for the second year in succession on Sunday.

Fraser-Pryce picks up sixth award

Jamaican sprinter Shelley-Ann Fraser-Pryce won the Sportswoman of the Year award for the sixth time after winning the 100m in the World Athletics Championships. She had won the same event on four previous occasions and is a two-time Olympic gold medallist.

Full list of Laureus World Sports Award winners

  • Sportsman of the Year - Lionel Messi (soccer)
  • Sportswoman of the Year - Shelley-Ann Fraser-Pryce (athletics)
  • Team of the Year - Argentina (men’s soccer)
  • Comeback of the Year - Christian Eriksen (soccer)
  • Breakthrough of the Year - Carlos Alcaraz (tennis)
  • Action Sportsperson of the Year - Eileen Gu (freestyle skiing)
  • Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability - Catherine Debrunner (athletics)
  • Sport for Good - Team Up

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?