NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Monterrey and Seattle will play in the Club World Cup in 2025

The Liga MX and MLS sides will be participating in the tournament after winning the last two editions of the CONCACAF Champions League.

¿Cuándo se juegan las semifinales de la Concacaf Champions League 2023?
Omar Vega

FIFA has confirmed the new format of the Club World Cup that will take place in 2025 and announced some of the teams that will be participating in the inaugural edition. Real Madrid, Chelsea, Palmeiras, Flamengo, Al Hilal, Al Ahly, Wydad Casablanca, Monterrey and Seattle Sounders have been included for the new-look competition.

Under this new format there will be 32 teams competing in the Club World Cup in 2025, the year before the start of the World Cup that will be co-hosted by the United States, Mexico and Canada. The tournament will be taking place between June and July 2025 and there are still 23 spots to be filled.

Two spots left for CONCACAF sides

FIFA announced that the winners of the CONCACAF Champions League between 2021 to 2024 will have guaranteed places in the tournament. Monterrey and the Sounders, the two previous winners, have their spots confirmed and there are two spots left in the upcoming two editions to be included in the 32-team Club World Cup.

Allocation per federation

Here’s how the allocation for FIFA’s new flagship club competition will be divided between the governing body’s federations:

UEFA - 12 spots

CONMEBOL - 6 spots

AFC - 4 spots

CAF - 4 spots

CONCACAF - 4 spots

OFC - 1 spot

Host - 1 spot


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?