Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


These are the winners of the 2022 MLS Goal and Save of the Year awards

More MLS year-end awards were doled out with winners in two categories announced on Friday, both voted for by fans.

Josef Martínez llegará a Inter Miami
Icon SportswireGetty

With the MLS playoffs underway and two teams, LAFC and Philadelphia Union, booking their places in the Conference finals, awards continue to be dished out to the top performer of 2022 in Major League Soccer’s year-end awards.

Related news

The identities of the winners of the AT&T MLS Goal of the Year and MLS Save of the Year awards were revealed on Friday. While journalists, clubs, and players were able to cast their votes in nine of the main categories, the best goal and best save of 2022 were determined exclusively by fans who voted online.

2022 MLS Save of the Year - Pedro Gallese

Orlando City goalkeeper Pedro Gallese picked up the 2022 MLS Save of the Year award for his agile stop in the dying moments of the 1-1 draw against Atlanta United on 17 July. Atlanta’s Dom Dwyer found himself in space on the edge of the box and unleashed a powerful, curling strike that was heading straight into the top corner. Fully alert to Dwyer, Gallese had repositioned himself and despite his view being partially blocked by Antonio Carlos, he miraculously managed to launch himself to tip the ball around the post at full stretch.

An acrobatic, perfectly-timed save which was all the more impressive by the fact that the Peru international reacted despite seeing the ball late.

He becomes the second Orlando City goalkeeper to pick up the award, following Joe Bendik, who won it in 2016 - curiously, also denying Dom Dwyer.

2022 MLS Goal of the Year - Josef Martínez

There won’t be many objections to the spectacular strike that won the AT&T MLS Goal of the Year award. It went to Atlanta United’s Josef Martínez for his acrobatic volley in the 2-1 defeat to the New England Revolution on 1 October.

Brooks Lennon picked out Martínez with a beautiful-weighted cross on 81 minutes and the Venezuelan connected to send an unstoppable overhead-kick into the back of the net. Keeper Djordje Petrović was left rooted to the spot and could only watch in awe as the ball ricocheted off the net and straight into his hands. Exquisite timing, technique and visually breathtaking. Unfortunately for Martínez and Atlanta, it came too late for them to gain the result they needed to make the playoffs.

This is Josef Martínez’s second MLS Goal of the Year award - he collected the accolade in 2019 for his wonderful strike against Cincinnati. It is the third time it has gone to an Atlanta player, Héctor Villalba collected the award in 2017.