NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who are the top playoff scorers in MLS history?

The MLS postseason commences this weekend with LAFC and Philadelphia Union strong favourites to advance to the 2022 MLS Cup final.

Máximos goleadores de la Concacaf en las Copas del Mundo
Jeff Mitchell - FIFAFIFA via Getty Images

After a long and gruelling MLS regular season, we know the names of the 14 sides still in contention for the 2022 MLS Cup.

The top seed in each conference (LAFC and Philadelphia) get a bye straight into the conference semifinal round, with the other six teams on each side taking part in the opening playoff round. The ties will be contested under a single-elimination format throughout with current MLS Cup holders NYCFC still in with a shout of retaining their title.

New York City FC
Full screen
New York City FC Amanda LomanAP

2022 Audi MLS Cup Playoffs first round schedule

Eastern Conference

New York Red Bulls vs FC Cincinnati

New York City FC vs Inter Miami

Montreal vs Orlando City

Western Conference

LA Galaxy vs Nashville

FC Dallas vs Minnesota United

Austin FC vs Real Salt Lake

MLS playoff top scorers

When it comes to impact and top marksmen in the history of the MLS playoffs, there is one name synonymous with post season goal-getting and that is that of Landon Donovan. The Californian born striker played with San Jose Earthquakes (2001-2004) and enjoyed two spells with LA Galaxy (2005-2014) and a brief spell with the side in 1026 and became an icon for the side from Carson.

The former US international was prolific in post season and holds the records for most goals scored in the playoffs with 25 over his time in MLS.

Trailing Donovan in second place is Guatemalan forward Carlos Ruiz aka El Pescado who played for the likes of the Galaxy, FC Dallas and Toronto FC and bagged 16 postseason strikes in his time at MLS.

MLS playoffs top 5 scorers

  • Landon Donovan (25 goals)
  • Carlos Ruiz (16 goals)
  • Roy Lassiter (13 goals)
  • Jaime Moreno (12 goals)
  • Ante Razon (11 goals)