Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


UEFA Champions League winners: Full list of winning teams by year

As we gear up to see who will be crowned the latest kings of Europe on Saturday night in London, we reflect on who has come before.

Soccer Football - Champions League - Final - Preview - London, Britain - May 30, 2024  General view of the skyline and a replica Champions League football Action Images via Reuters/John Sibley
John SibleyAction Images via Reuters

As Borussia Dortmund head to their third ever Champions League final, they will look to unseat the all-time heavyweight champs of the competition in Real Madrid. The German side has one win and one loss on their record, going up against a seemingly unstoppable force from the Spanish capital. We take a look at the teams who have come before.

European Cup / Champions League top dogs

There can be no denying it, Real Madrid are the kings of European football. No other team has dominated European football’s top club competition quite like Los Blancos. They made it to, and won, the inaugural edition, (known then as the European Champion Clubs’ Cup) which originally featured, in theory, only the winners of the continent’s major domestic leagues. Madrid’s grip on the tournament, rebranded as the Champions League in 1992, is just as strong today as it was back in the 1950s.

No club has won the competition as many times as they have (14), scored as many goals (1020) or made the most appearances in the tournament (47) or the final itself.

Edin Terzić will feel that his boys can beat anyone after taking down Newcastle, Milan, PSV Eindhoven, Atlético de Madrid and Paris Saint-Germain to get this far. Borussia Dortmund will not be a rollover for Real Madrid.

1956-2022: All European Cup/Champions League winners

Let’s look back at all the winners that have come before...

All European Cup/Champions League winners by year:

1956: Real Madrid
1957: Real Madrid
1958: Real Madrid
1959: Real Madrid
1960: Real Madrid
1961: Benfica
1962: Benfica
1963: AC Milan
1964: Inter
1965: Inter
1966: Real Madrid
1967: Celtic
1968: Manchester United
1969: AC Milan
1970: Feyenoord
1971: Ajax
1972: Ajax
1973: Ajax
1974: Bayern Munich
1975: Bayern Munich
1976: Bayern Munich
1977: Liverpool
1978: Liverpool
1979: Nottingham Forest
1980: Nottingham Forest
1981: Liverpool
1982: Aston Villa
1983: Hamburg
1984: Liverpool
1985: Juventus
1986: Steaua Bucharest
1987: Porto
1988: PSV Eindhoven
1989: AC Milan
1990: AC Milan
1991: Red Star Belgrade
1992: FC Barcelona
1993: Marseille
1994: AC Milan
1995: Ajax
1996: Juventus
1997: Borussia Dortmund
1998: Real Madrid
1999: Manchester United
2000: Real Madrid
2001: Bayern Munich
2002: Real Madrid
2003: AC Milan
2004: Porto
2005: Liverpool
2006: FC Barcelona
2007: AC Milan
2008: Manchester United
2009: FC Barcelona
2010: Inter
2011: FC Barcelona
2012: Chelsea
2013: Bayern Munich
2014: Real Madrid
2015: FC Barcelona
2016: Real Madrid
2017: Real Madrid
2018: Real Madrid
2019: Liverpool
2020: Bayern Munich
2021: Chelsea
2022: Real Madrid
2023: Manchester City
2024: Real Madrid OR Borussia Dortmund

Either Real Madrid or Borussia Dortmund will be getting their name etched into the famous trophy come Saturday night. And they will take their place on the long list of European Kings.