Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


What teams will participate at the 2022 FIFA Club World Cup?

Morocco has been confirmed as the host nation for the delayed 2022 Club World Cup tournament with seven sides involved.

Revelan posibles fechas del Mundial de Clubes 2025 en USA

FIFA chief Gianni Infantino confirmed on Friday morning at the press briefing in Doha that Morocco will host the next edition of the Club World Cup in February. Infantino also confirmed details of a new expanded 32 team Club World Cup that will get underway in June 2025 (following the postponement of the original 24-team tournament planned for 2021) and will take place every four years.

At present no venues in the North African nation have been confirmed for the February competition at which Real Madrid will attempt to lift the trophy for a record-extending fifth time.

Full screen

Who plays at the Club World Cup?

The winners of each domestic confederation’s highest profile competition (UEFA’s Champions League, CONMEBOL’s Copa Libertadores ...) get to participate in the Club World Cup with seven teams set to be involved.

Last May in Paris, Real Madrid secured their 14th European Cup/Champions League title with a 1-0 win over Liverpool at the Stade de France, earning the right to participate in the competition they won in 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018.

Rio de Janeiro giants Flamengo won the Copa Libertadores back in October in an all Brazilian final beating Atletico Paranaense and take their place at the CWC for the second time.

CONCACAF Champions League holders Seattle Sounders made history in May this year becoming the first MLS side to win the trophy as the overcame Liga MX side Pumas UNAM in a two legged final.

There will be massive home support for local side Wydad Casablanca who won the CAF Champions League under Walid Regragui last season (beating Al Ahly) before he left to manage the national team with the Egyptian side also being invited to take part with Wydad securing the place always reserved for the host nation.

Walid Regragui
Full screen
Walid RegraguiQuality Sport ImagesGetty

Auckland City (Oceania) and the winners of the AFC Champions League which will be played in January will be teams six and seven in Morocco with Japan’s Urawa Red Diamonds already one of the AFC Champions League finalists.

The tournament will take place between February 1 and 11, 2023, with the final being held 10 days before Madrid take on Liverpool in the first leg of their Champions League last-16 tie.

2022 FIFA Club World Cup: participants


  • Real Madrid (Spain)-Uefa
  • Flamengo (Brazil) -Conmebol
  • Seattle Sounders (USA) -Concacaf
  • Wydad Casablanca (Morocco) -Host
  • Al Ahly (Egypt) -CAF
  • Auckland City (New Zealand) -OFC
  • Tba-AFC