NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

mls

Which MLS players have been invited to the USMNT pre-World Cup training camp?

Who are the MLS players currently in the USMNT pre-World Cup training camp?

Joe Brennan
Update:
Mundial Qatar 2022: Guía de Estados Unidos: Figuras, posible alineación, leyenda...
Twitter @USMNT

The clock is counting down and the beginning of the World Cup is fast approaching; bags will soon be packed and the 32 squads will be travelling to their bases in Qatar. For the USMNT, given the scheduling of the season, things are slightly different. For that reason, manager Gregg Berhalter has already been able to start his squad preparation before most other managers.

For this pre-World Cup training camp, he has selected those MLS players who have stood out during the season and although this list does not yet guarantee them a seat on the plane to Asia, it does give them a head-start in terms of making a good impression on the boss. But who has he chosen?

Ex-Premier League player DeAndre Yedlin makes the provisional list
Full screen
Ex-Premier League player DeAndre Yedlin makes the provisional listJulio CortezAP

From 25 October to 5 November, Frisco, Texas will be the location of the fitness training camp for the players. So far, nine players have been chosen from a total of six clubs.

For the players who don’t play in MLS, they will join up with the rest of the squad a week or so prior to the tournament’s kick-off; the nine selected so far, if they make the cut, will by then have had quite a substantial amount of time around the team.

The full squad list of 26 players will be published on Wednesday 9 November during a special event in New York.

The list is as follows:

Goalkeepers (1)

  • Gaga Slonina (Chicago Fire FC)

Defenders (4)

  • Aaron Long (New York Red Bulls)
  • Shaq Moore (Nashville SC)
  • DeAndre Yedlin (Inter Miami CF)
  • Walker Zimmerman (Nashville SC)

Midfielders (1)

  • Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders FC)

Forwards (3)

  • Paul Arriola (FC Dallas)
  • Jesús Ferreira (FC Dallas)
  • Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC)

USMNT World Cup schedule:

  • Nov. 21 vs. Wales (14:00 ET / 11:00 am PT / 20:00 CEST)
  • Nov. 25 vs. England (14:00 ET / 11:00 am PT / 20:00 CEST)
  • Nov. 29 vs. Iran (14:00 ET / 11:00 am PT / 20:00 CEST)
Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?