NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who was nominated for the MLS MVP award?

As the 2022 MLS winds down, the five finalists for ‘Player of the Year’ (MVP) were made public.


The 2022 MLS season is in the final stretch with the staging of Qatar World Cup forcing the dates for post-season and MLS Cup to be held earlier than usual.

MLS earlier confirmed the shortlist of the five finalists who will compete for the Landon Donovan MLS Most Valuable Player. These include Los Angeles FC striker Cristian ‘Chicho’ Arango with the ‘Black and Gold’ running out Supporters Shield winners, goalkeeper Andre Blake from Philadelphia Union who claimed top spot in the Eastern Conference. The other aspirants are Austin FC striker Sebastian Dirussi, Golden Boot winner Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC), and veteran striker Javier ‘Chicharito’ Hernández with the Mexican enjoying a purple path with Los Angeles Galaxy.

Chicharito se queda en LA Galaxy
Full screen
Javier Hernandez

The MLS x MVP award is decided by an aggregation of votes from members of the press and media, MLS players, and club management and is awarded to the outstanding player in the league each season.

Previous recipients includes the likes of Carlos Valderrama, Preki, Robbie Keane, Diego Valeri, Carlos Vela with NE Revolution’s Spanish player Carles Gil the current holder of the award.

New England midfielder Carles Gil
Full screen
New England midfielder Carles Gil Icon SportswireGetty

Landon Donovan MLS Most Valuable Player (2022 season nominees)

  • Cristian Arango (Los Angeles AFC)
  • Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)
  • Sebastian Driussi (Austin FC)
  • Javier Hernández (Los Angeles Galaxy)
  • Hany Mukhtar (Nashville SC)