NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Bayern sweep to fifth straight title after routing Wolfsburg

The all-powerful Bavarians thrashed The Wolves 6-0 to claim the Bundesliga title on Saturday after the double blow of Champions League and Cup losses
Borussia Dortmund vs Bayern Munich live online

Bayern sweep to fifth straight title after routing Wolfsburg

Bayern Munich secured a record-extending fifth consecutive Bundesliga title on Saturday after beating VfL Wolfsburg 6-0 to open up an unassailable 10-point lead with three matches remaining.

The Bavarians, who have now won 27 German championships, are on 73 points with RB Leipzig in second place on 63 after they were held to a goalless draw by Ingolstadt earlier in the day.

Bundesliga leading scorer Robert Lewandowski netted twice to take his league goal tally to 28 and David Alaba, Thomas Mueller, Arjen Robben and Joshua Kimmich were also on target as Bayern rode roughshod over the hosts.

Full screen

Bayern's knock-out woe

The Bavarians had promised to bounce back following their mid-week German Cup semi-final defeat to Borussia Dortmund and last week's Champions League exit to Real Madrid.

They had also failed to win either of their last two league matches, going five games without a win in all competitions.

There was no self-doubt on Saturday as they scored three times before halftime, knowing Leipzig had failed to win their match.

Bayern finished off the relegation-threatened Wolves with three more goals in the second half, when the hosts were reduced to 10 men following the dismissal of former Bayern player Luiz Gustavo, before enjoying celebrations with their travelling fans.

The last 15 Bundesliga winners

2017: Bayern Munich 2016: Bayern Munich 2015: Bayern Munich 2014: Bayern Munich 2013: Bayern Munich 2012: Borussia Dortmund 2011: Borussia Dortmund 2010: Bayern Munich 2009: VfL Wolfsburg 2008: Bayern Munich 2007: VfB Stuttgart 2006: Bayern Munich 2005: Bayern Munich 2004: Werder Bremen 2003: Bayern Munich

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?