NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Dumoulin in Dolomites disaster as Quintana takes Giro lead

The Colombian eased into the Giro d'Italia leader's jersey on Friday as the Dutchman struggled on the categorised climbs to Piancavallo.
Floyd Mayweather vs Conor McGregor

Dumoulin in Dolomites disaster as Quintana takes Giro lead
Getty Images

Tom Dumoulin's Giro d'Italia dreams were dealt a massive blow in Piancavallo on Friday as the Team Sunweb rider relinquished the maglia rosa to Nairo Quintana.

The Dutchman had battled valiantly to hold onto the leader's jersey in recent days - particularly on Thursday after an untimely toilet stop - but he was finally broken on stage 19.

As Mikel Landa took the stage win in the Dolomites, Dumoulin was toiling nine minutes back, although it was the distance between himself and Quintana and Vincenzo Nibali that proved costly.

Twice Dumoulin fought back after being dropped on the 191-kilometre stage but a third fightback was beyond him and the overall lead slipped from his grasp.

Dumoulin: "Stupid, very stupid"

"Stupid, very stupid," he said after the stage. "I was simply at the back of the bunch. It had nothing to do with a toilet break.

"The legs weren't there today. I made a rookie mistake and had to use a lot of energy to get back. The team saved me and helped limit my losses."

Quintana, Nibali and Thibaut Pinot all took time out of the 26-year-old, the latter breaking free from the leading riders to bring his deficit down to under a minute with two stages remaining.

Eventually Dumoulin finished over a minute behind his Colombian rival to slip to second overall, but he will retain hope of getting back on top with an individual time trial on Sunday.

Stage result

1. Mikel Landa (Team Sky) 4:53.00

2. Rui Costa (UAE Team Emirates) +1.49

3. Pierre Rolland (Cannondale Drapac) +1.54

4. Pello Bilbao (Astana) +2.12

5. Sergio Henao (Team Sky) +3.06

Giro d'Italia general classification

1. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) 85:02.40

2. Tom Dumoulin (Team Sunweb) +0:38

3. Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida) +0:43

4. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ) +0:53

5. Ilnur Zakarin (Katusha Alpecin) +1:21


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?