Cristiano Ronaldo chases his Champions League record

The Portugal star scored 17 goals in the competition when Real Madrid won the 'Décima' in 2014, and has already accumulated 12 this campaign.

Cristiano Ronaldo chases his Champions League record

Cristiano Ronaldo is flying. The No.7 scored the goal in Paris that effectively secured Real Madrid’s passage to the Champions League quarter-final for the eighth consecutive year. In the 2013-14 edition of the competition, when Real Madrid won the Décima, Ronaldo scored 17 goals. That is a Champions League record, and he has that record in his sights again. That season, Ronaldo had scored 13 goals by the end of the last-16; he has already scored 12 in 2017-18.

Ronaldo scoring close to his record rate

Ronaldo is close to his scoring rate from that record-setting season, when he averaged a goal every 58.41 minutes. This season he is running at one every 60 minutes.

The 33-year-old has already equalled a Champions League record this season, by scoring in nine consecutive matches. Only Ruud van Nistelrooy has achieved the same, while playing for Manchester United in 2002-03.

Champions League top scorer prize likely

Even if Ronaldo misses out on his own record, he is likely to be the top-scorer in this year’s competition.

Edinson Cavani, Roberto Firmino, and Harry Kane all have seven, and Cavani’s PSG have been knocked out.

Player with third most appearances in Champions League

(EFE) Cristiano Ronaldo moved past Ryan Giggs at the Parc des Princes to become the player with the third most appearances in the Champions League, with 152.

Iker Casillas is at the top of the list. The Porto 'keeper made his 171st Champions League appearance at Anfield on Tuesday, although that is likely to be his last with Porto set to release him at the end of the season. 

Player Matches Teams
1 Iker Casillas 171 Real Madrid/Porto
2 Xavi 157 Barcelona
3 Cristiano Ronaldo 152 Real Madrid
4 Ryan Giggs 151 Manchester United
5 Raúl González 144 Real Madrid/Schalke
6 Paolo Maldini 140 Milan
7 Clarence Seedorf 131 Ajax/Real Madrid/Milan
8 Paul Scholes 130 Manchester United
9 Andrés Iniesta 129 F.C.Barcelona
10 Roberto Carlos 128 Real Madrid/Fenerbahçe