Martial, Payet, Lacazette and Coman out of France squad

Kingsley Coman, Alexandre Lacazette, Dimitri Payet and Anthony Martial are among the notable absentees from France's World Cup squad.

Martial, Payet, Lacazette & Coman out of France squad

Didier Deschamps has left Premier League stars Anthony Martial and Alexandre Lacazette out of France's squad for the World Cup, with Dimitri Payet, Adrien Rabiot and Kingsley Coman also omitted.

Bayern Munich winger Coman is on the reserves list, along with Rabiot, Martial and Lacazette, but Payet is out definitively after the Olympique de Marseille captain was injured in Thursday's Europa League final defeat to Atlético de Madrid in Lyon.

N'Zonzi and Lucas called up by Deschamps

Laurent Koscielny is another big name absent due to injury, while Steven N'Zonzi, Benjamin Pavard and Lucas Hernandez are among the surprise selections made by Deschamps.

With so much attacking talent available there were always going to be casualties and Deschamps has preferred Ligue 1 stars Florian Thauvin and Nabil Fekir over Martial and Lacazette, who both had underwhelming Premier League campaigns. After returning from injury at the end of Manchester City's record-breaking Premier League title success, Benjamin Mendy has done enough to earn a place, although team-mate Aymeric Laporte - City's record signing - misses out.


Digne on France's World Cup reserve list

Barcelona's left-back Lucas Digne is on the 11-strong reserve list, along with fellow defenders Kurt Zouma, Mathieu Debuchy and Mamadou Sakho.

Deschamps has a wealth of attacking options despite the omissions of Lacazette and Martial, with Chelsea's Olivier Giroud competing with the likes of Atlético striker Antoine Griezmann, PSG forward Kylian Mbappé and Barcelona's Ousmane Dembélé for selection in Russia.

France open their World Cup campaign against Australia on 16 June before facing Peru and Denmark in their remaining Group C fixtures.

France's final 23-man World Cup squad:

Alphonse Areola (PSG), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham), Steve Mandanda (Marseille); Lucas Hernandez (Atlético de Madrid), Presnel Kimpembe (PSG), Benjamin Mendy (Manchester City), Benjamin Pavard (Stuttgart), Adil Rami (Marseille), Djibril Sidibé (Monaco), Samuel Umtiti (Barcelona), Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid); N'Golo Kanté (Chelsea), Blaise Matuidi (Juventus), Steven N'Zonzi (Sevilla) Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Corentin Tolisso (Bayern Munich); Ousmane Dembélé (Barcelona), Nabil Fekir (Lyon), Olivier Giroud (Chelsea), Antoine Griezmann (Atlético de Madrid), Thomas Lemar (Monaco), Kylian Mbappé (PSG), Florian Thauvin (Marseille).

Reserve list:

Wissam Ben Yedder (Sevilla), Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich) Benoît Costil (Bordeaux), Mathieu Debuchy (Saint-Etienne), Lucas Digne (Barcelona), Alexandre Lacazette (Arsenal), Anthony Martial (Manchester United), Adrien Rabiot (PSG), Mamadou Sakho (Crystal Palace), Moussa Sissoko (Tottenham), Kurt Zouma (Stoke City - on loan from Chelsea).