NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

World Cup Final 2018

Griezmann dive fools Pitana and leads to opening goal for France

Controversy just over a quarter of an hour played in the 2018 World Cup Final, Antoinne Griezmann conned the referee into giving a free-kick, from which France scored.
The USA vs. Ecuador live and direct: Friendly FIFA Date

Soccer Football - World Cup - Final - France v Croatia - Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow, Russia - July 15, 2018  France's Antoine Griezmann looks on during the match   REUTERS/Christian Hartmann

The 2018 World Cup Final between France and Croatia didn't take long to throw up some controversy. The French scored in the 18th minute, thanks to a Mandzukic own-goal, but it came directly from a very questionable free-kick.

Griezmann dive leads to goal

Croatia came out of the blocks quickly in the nation's first ever Fifa showpiece final. The first 15 minutes saw much of the play towards the Hugo Lloris' area with Les Bleus only mustering a few breakaway opportunities. Then came the moment when Griezmann went down.

About half-way inside the Croatian half, a challenge looked as though it was coming in to the Atlético man, but before any hint of contact was made, he flicked back his leg and fell to the turf. That was enough for referee Néstor Pitana to give the dead ball situation. Griezmann took the free-kick himself, sent it into the crowded penalty area, and the unlucky Mandzukic directed it off his head and past his own keeper. AS' resident referee, Iturralde González, was in absolutely no doubt that his colleague had made a big mistake.

Mario Mandzukic of Croatia scores an own goal from Antoine Griezmann free-kick.
Full screen
Mario Mandzukic of Croatia scores an own goal from Antoine Griezmann free-kick.Catherine IvillGetty Images

Another element of that opening goal that has been questioned is that French player Paul Pogba appeared to be standing in an offside position as the free-kick was struck, and then clearly interfered with the jumping players.

France penalty correctly given

There was more intrigue before half-time as VAR came into play. A French corner was delivered to the near post where the ball hit the arm of Perisic, the Croatian who had brought his side level with a wonderful strike. At first Pitana did not award a spot-kick, however, after being called to review the incident by his team in the monitor room, he gave Griezmann the chance to put his team ahead again. He duly did. Former official González had a good look at this case as well, deeming it a correct decision by the man in the middle, and another win for VAR.

Thanks VAR | France's Antoine Griezmann strokes home the penalty.
Full screen
Thanks VAR | France's Antoine Griezmann strokes home the penalty.DYLAN MARTINEZREUTERS

Twitter was quick to have its say...


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?