NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

REAL BETIS-BARCELONA

Barcelona: Lenglet handball "a red card", Sergi Roberto should have gone too - AS resident ref

Eduardo Iturralde says that Clément Lenglet, who went on to score Barça's winner, should have been sent off for giving away Real Betis' penalty.

Update:
Barcelona: Lenglet handball "a red card", Sergi Roberto should have gone too - AS resident ref

AS' resident ref, Eduardo Iturralde González, says Barcelona's Clément Lenglet should have been sent off for his early handball in the Blaugrana's 3-2 LaLiga win over Real Betis on Sunday.

Betis were awarded a fifth-minute penalty at the Estadio Benito Villamarín after Nabil Fekir's goal-bound shot hit Lenglet's arm inside the box, with Sergio Canales converting the spot-kick to open the scoring.

Lenglet handball denied Betis a "clear goalscoring opportunity"

Lenglet was shown a yellow card for the infringement, but Iturralde González believes the Frenchman should have been handed a stiffer punishment. "It's a red card," the former FIFA official told AS.

"It's a clear goalscoring opportunity," he explained. "He [Lenglet] is behind the penalty spot and it's a shot which, if it doesn't hit his hand, is going to hit the target."

Roberto lucky not to be sent off for two first-half yellows, says Iturralde González

Meanwhile, Iturralde González also told AS that he felt Barça's Sergi Roberto, who had already been booked, should have seen a second yellow card for a lunge on Carles Aleñá late on in the first half.

Roberto catches Betis' on-loan Barcelona midfielder Carles Aleñá with a late challenge.
Full screen
Roberto catches Betis' on-loan Barcelona midfielder Carles Aleñá with a late challenge.

Lenglet sent off for second booking after heading in Barcelona winner

Lenglet later scored Barça's winner by heading home Lionel Messi's second-half free-kick delivery, before being dismissed with 10 minutes to go when a foul on Betis' Joaquín Sánchez saw him collect a second yellow.

Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?