TENNIS

Williams vs Halep: how to watch Australian Open quarter final - times, TV, online

All the information you need on how and when to watch the Australian Open women's quarter final between Serena Williams and Simona Halep.

All the information you need on how and when to watch the Australian Open women's quarter final between Serena Williams and Simona Halep.
JASON O'BRIEN EFE

In a repeat of the 2019 Wimbledon final matchup, 10th-seeded Serena Williams will take on second-seeded Simona Halep in the second of the 2021 Australian Open women’s quarterfinals.

Williams is looking to secure her record-equaling 24th Grand Slam women's singles title, but standing in her way is the energetic Halep, who convincingly beat her 6-2, 6-2 in that Wimbledon final to deny the American her last opportunity to win a grand slam title.

Halep comes into the game full of confidence after her convincing 3-6, 6-1, 6-4 victory over Iga Swiatek, who had won nine straight Grand Slam matches. After 10 unforced errors in the first set, the Romanian made just three in the second and four in the third to see off the Polish No.17 seed. 

Serena, meanwhile, has reached the last eight after defeating Aryna Sabalenka, in which she hit 9 aces in the 6-4, 2-6, 6-4 win over the Belarussian seventh seed.

Historically, Williams has dominated the head-to-head with Halep, having won nine and lost just two. The 39-year-old will surely be looking to avenge that last defeat at Wimbledon in 2019 and should have a slight edge on the fast courts at Melbourne Park.

But if Halep is at her best, as she was in that Wimbledon final, she will be in with a shout, despite the fact that she has played just six hard-court matches since the tour’s resumption, in comparison to William’s 18 matches. "Legend. She's the best," said Halep ahead of the match against Williams. "You can only beat Serena if you play your best."

Tennis - Australian Open - Melbourne Park, Melbourne, Australia, February 14, 2021 Romania's Simona Halep celebrates winning her fourth round match against Poland's Iga Swiatek REUTERS/Asanka Brendon Ratnayake

What time does the Williams vs Halep match start?

The Australian Open 2021 quarter final match between Serena Williams and Simona Halep will be played at Melbourne Park, Melbourne on Tuesday, 16 February, with the tie getting underway at the local time of 8pm (AEDT).

US (ET): 3am
US (PT): 12am (midnight)
UK (GMT): 8am
Central Europe (CET): 9am

Where can I watch the Williams vs Halep?

In the US, the match between Serena Williams and Simona Halep will be broadcast on ESPN2, ESPN Deportes and the Tennis Channel. The match can also be streamed on fuboTV, ESPN+, Sling, Hulu + Live TV.

In the UK and Europe, viewers can see the match on Eurosport. The match will also be available on the Bet365 app for viewers in the UK, Europe and Australia.