NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


NBA All-Star: which players have won the most 3-Point Contests?

Over its 35-year history, only six players have managed to win the 3-Point Contest on more than one occasion, the last being in 2008. But one of two players could join the list in 2021.

NBA All Star: which players have won more 3-Point contests?
Bettmann Archive

2021 marks the 35th anniversary of the 3-Point Contest, which has been part of the All-Star Weekend since the NBA introduced the event back in 1986.

It has been held every year since with the exception of 1999, as it was the year the All-Star Game was cancelled due to the NBA Lockout 1998-99. As such, 2021 will also be the 35th edition of the event since its launch in 1986.

The 3-Point Contest is usually held on the Saturday before the annual All-Star Game, however this year things will be different due to the pandemic, with the NBA choosing to pack all of the All-Star Weekend events into one night in Atlanta. Due to the pandemic, of course, there will be no fans in attendance at the State Farm Arena. 

As always the All-Star Game will be the headline event, which will be preceded by the Skills Challenge and 3-Point Contest, while the Slam Dunk Contest will take place at half-time.

See also:

NBA All-Star: who has won the most 3-Point Contests?

Over its 35-year history, only six players have managed to win the 3-Point Contest on more than one occasion.

Boston Celtics legend Larry Bird won the inaugural edition in 1986, as well as the two following editions in 1987 and 1988. Bird’s three consecutive 3-Point Contest victories puts him top of the leaderboard, where he is joined by Craig Hodges. The former Chicago Bulls shooting guard also won the contest on three consecutive occasions in 1990, 1991 and 1992. Hodges also holds the 3-Point Contest records for most shots made in one round (21/25), set in 1986, and most consecutive shots made (19), set in 1991.

Behind Bird and Hodges, four players have won the contest on two occasions, with each two-time winner having won their titles in consecutive years: Mark Price of the Cleveland Cavaliers (1993, 1994); Jeff Hornacek of the Utah Jazz (1998, 2000); Peja Stojakovic of the Sacramento Kings (2002, 2003); and Jason Kapono of the Toronto Raptors (2007, 2008). Kapono remains the last person to win back-to-back contests.

2021 3-Point Contest could see new member added to two-time winners list

In 2021, two of the participants have the chance to become the first player to join the select list of two-time winners since Kapono in 2008: Golden State warriors point guard Stephen Curry, who won the competition in 2015, and 3-Point Contest veteran Devin Booker of the Phoenix Suns, who won the trophy in 2018 and was runner-up to Sacramento Kings guard Buddy Hield in 2020.

The other participant in the 2021 contest are Jaylen Brown (Celtics), Zach LaVine (Bulls), Donovan Mitchell (Jazz), and Jayson Tatum (Celtics).

What teams have the most 3-Point Contest winners?

Three teams are tied on the top of the table with four winners each:

Miami Heat: Glen Rice – 1995; Jason Kapono – 2007; Daequan Cook – 2009; James Jones – 2011

Boston Celtics: Larry Bird – 1986, 1987, 1988; Paul Pierce – 2010

Chicago Bulls: Craig Hodges – 1990, 1991 and 1992; Steve Kerr – 1997


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?