TOKYO OLYMPICS

Olympic football draw: times, TV & how to watch online

All the information you need to know on how and where to watch the men’s and women’s Olympic football draw on 21 April at 4am EDT / 10am CEST.

Olympic football draw: times, TV & how to watch online

The Olympic Games are drawing closer after being postponed for a year due to the coronavirus pandemic. The countdown to the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games is underway and the 16 men's and 12 women's teams in the football competition are set to find out their opponents on Wednesday.

For the men, the allocation is based on a ranking system based on how teams have performed in the past five Olympic competitions.

The women's teams, meanwhile, have their pots determined by the FIFA Women's World Ranking, which was released on Friday.

The 16 men’s sides will be drawn into four groups of four (Groups A to D), while the women's sides will be drawn into three groups of four (Groups E to G).

What time is the Olympic football draw?

The Olympic football draw will take place in Zurich (Switzerland) at 16:00 EDT on Wednesday 21 April 2021.

That's 01:00 PDT, 10:00 local time in Switzerland (CEST) and 09:00 in the UK (BST).

Find out what time the Olympic football draw takes place where you are in the world.

Where can I watch the Olympic football draw?

The draw will be streamed live on the FIFA YouTube channel for free and will be conducted by Sarai Bareman, FIFA chief women's football officer and Jaime Yarza, FIFA director of tournaments.

Olympic football draw: AS English live coverage

You can also follow our live text commentary here on AS English. We will be building up to the draw before giving you a minute-by-minute account as it unfolds.