Which LaLiga team has won the most titles?

After Atlético Madrid were proclaimed the 2020/21 league champion on the final day, we look back on all the previous winners, and where they fit on the honours list.


We now have our 2020/21 LaLiga Santander champion. Atlético Madrid won their 11th Primera División championship on Saturday after an impressive season - although it almost imploded - for Diego Simeone's side. The colchoneros consolodate their place as the third most successful club in terms of Spanish league titles, with Barcelona and Real Madrid still a long way ahead.

In total there have been nine different LaLiga champions in Spain. These are, in order of number of championships, Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atlético, Athletic, Valencia, Real Sociedad, Betis, Sevilla and Deportivo la Coruña, although as you can see below, other names came close over the years. Depor is the only club in this list not currently playing in the top flight.

LaLiga titles: how many per club?

Real Madrid 34
Barcelona 26
Atlético Madrid 11
Athletic Bilbao 8
Valencia 6
Real Sociedad 2
Real Betis 1
Sevilla 1
Deportivo 1

Primera División: all the winners

2020-2021 Atlético Madrid
Real Madrid
2019-2020 Real Madrid Barcelona
2018-2019 Barcelona Atlético Madrid
2017-2018 Barcelona Atlético Madrid
2016-2017 Real Madrid Barcelona
2015-2016 Barcelona Real Madrid
2014-2015 Barcelona Real Madrid
2013-2014 Atlético Madrid Barcelona
2012-2013 Barcelona Real Madrid
2011-2012 Real Madrid Barcelona
2010-2011 Barcelona Real Madrid
2009-2010 Barcelona Real Madrid
2008-2009 Barcelona Real Madrid
2007-2008 Real Madrid Villarreal
2006-2007 Real Madrid Barcelona
2005-2006 Barcelona Real Madrid
2004-2005 Barcelona Real Madrid
2003-2004 Valencia Barcelona
2002-2003 Real Madrid Real Sociedad
2001-2002 Valencia Deportivo
2000-2001 Real Madrid Deportivo
1999-2000 Deportivo Barcelona
1998-1999 Barcelona Real Madrid
1997-1998 Barcelona Athletic
1996-1997 Real Madrid Barcelona
1995-1996 Atlético Madrid Valencia
1994-1995 Real Madrid Deportivo
1993-1994 Barcelona Deportivo
1992-1993 Barcelona Real Madrid
1991-1992 Barcelona Real Madrid
1990-1991 Barcelona Atlético Madrid
1989-1990 Real Madrid Valencia
1988-1989 Real Madrid Barcelona
1987-1988 Real Madrid Real Sociedad
1986-1987 Real Madrid Barcelona
1985-1986 Real Madrid Barcelona
1984-1985 Barcelona Atlético Madrid
1983-1984 Athletic Real Madrid
1982-1983 Athletic Real Madrid
1981-1982 Real Sociedad Barcelona
1980-1981 Real Sociedad Real Madrid
1979-1980 Real Madrid Real Sociedad
1978-1979 Real Madrid Sporting
1977-1978 Real Madrid Barcelona
1976-1977 Atlético Madrid Barcelona
1975-1976 Real Madrid Barcelona
1974-1975 Real Madrid Zaragoza
1973-1974 Barcelona Atlético Madrid
1972-1973 Atlético Madrid Barcelona
1971-1972 Real Madrid Valencia
1970-1971 Valencia Barcelona
1969-1970 Atlético Madrid Athletic
1968-1969 Real Madrid Las Palmas
1967-1968 Real Madrid Barcelona
1966-1967 Real Madrid Barcelona
1965-1966 Atlético Madrid Real Madrid
1964-1965 Real Madrid Atlético Madrid
1963-1964 Real Madrid Barcelona
1962-1963 Real Madrid Atlético Madrid
1961-1962 Real Madrid Barcelona
1960-1961 Real Madrid Atlético Madrid
1959-1960 Barcelona Real Madrid
1958-1959 Barcelona Real Madrid
1957-1958 Real Madrid Atlético Madrid
1956-1957 Real Madrid Sevilla
1955-1956 Athletic Barcelona
1954-1955 Real Madrid Barcelona
1953-1954 Real Madrid Barcelona
1952-1953 Barcelona Valencia
1951-1952 Barcelona Athletic
1950-1951 Atlético Madrid Sevilla
1949-1950 Atlético Madrid Deportivo
1948-1949 Barcelona Valencia
1947-1948 Barcelona Valencia
1946-1947 Valencia Athletic
1945-1946 Sevilla Barcelona
1944-1945 Barcelona Real Madrid
1943-1944 Valencia Atlético Madrid
1942-1943 Athletic Sevilla
1941-1942 Valencia Real Madrid
1940-1941 Atlético Madrid Athletic
1939-1940 Atlético Madrid Sevilla
1935-1936 Athletic Real Madrid
1934-1935 Betis Real Madrid
1933-1934 Athletic Real Madrid
1932-1933 Real Madrid Athletic
1931-1932 Real Madrid Athletic
1930-1931 Athletic Racing Santander
1929-1930 Athletic Barcelona
1928-1929 Barcelona Athletic