EURO 2020

Spain's European Championship squad: which players have been selected?

We take a look at the players selected by Luis Enrique for the Spanish national team before their opening match against Sweden at Euro 2020.

Spain team squad Euro 2020: which players have been selected?

Euro 2020 has just begun and Luis Enrique and his men will try to recapture the glory days by winning a fourth European championship.

‘La Roja’, with originally 24 footballers in the squad, has recently been hit by coronavirus, as Diego Llorente was confirmed to have contracted it on Tuesday night, after Sergio Busquets also tested positive two days before. Llorente has since tested negative and rejoined the group.

In case more players test positive, Luis Enrique called up a further 11 players with a total of 17 training apart from the initial first team squad.

The new call-ups include: Álvaro Fernández, Óscar Mingueza, Marc Cucurella, Bryan Gil, Juan Miranda, Gonzalo Villar, Pozo, Brahim, Zubimendi, Yeremy Pino and Javi Puado.

Spain take on Sweden, Poland and Slovakia in Group E at Euro 2020.

What is Spain’s major absence?

Sergio Ramos. Luis Enrique left out the Andalusian defender for the tournament despite having two extra spaces to fill. Moreover, the former Barcelona player and manager did not pick a single Real Madrid player in his squad.

Since the start of 2021, Ramos has played only five games for Real Madrid: two in January, followed by a two-month absence - after undergoing surgery to address an issue with the inner meniscus of his left knee - two in March and the last one in the Champions League semi-finals against Chelsea.


Unai Simon (Athletic Bilbao)

David de Gea (Manchester United)

Robert Sánchez (Brighton)


José Gayà (Valencia)

Jordi Alba (Barcelona)

Pau Torres (Villarreal)

Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City)

Eric García (Manchester City)

Diego Llorente (Leeds)

César Azpilicueta (Chelsea)


Marcos Llorente (Atletico Madrid)

Sergio Busquets (Barcelona)

Rodri (Manchester City)

Pedri (Barcelona)

Thiago (Liverpool)

Koke (Atletico Madrid)

Fabián (Napoli)

Dani Olmo (RB Leipzig)

Pablo Sarabia (Paris Saint-Germain)


Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)

Álvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid)

Ferran Torres (Manchester City)

Adama Traoré (Wolves)

Mikel Oyarzabal (Real Sociedad)