NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


NBA All-Star 2022: who has won the most All-Star Game MVP awards?

Bob Pettit held the NBA All-Star Game MVP record for almost half a century. LeBron James became the youngest player to pick up the award in 2006.

NBA All-Star 2022: who has won the most All-Star Game MVP awards?

>>>>> NBA All-Star Game | Team LeBron vs Team Durant live updates

The NBA All-Star Game Kobe Bryant MVP award is given to the player who is voted the best performer in the annual All-Star Game, based on the number of points received in votes cast by panel of members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America once the game has finished. A further 20 per cent of the final result comes from votes received by the public. Voting for the All-Star Game MVP can be done via SMS or through Twitter, using the relevant hashtags (#player's first and last name, #KiaAllStarMVP).

The All-Star MVP award has been dished out a total of 70 times - "Easy" Ed Macauley won the MVP in the inaugural All-Star Game in 1951 but was presented with the accolade a couple of years later, along with 1952's MVP Paul Arizin, after the NBA decided to present the award for the first two editions retroactively. Since then, the MVP has been announced on the day of the game. The most recent winner was Milwaukee Bucks' Giannis Antetokounmpo who picked up his first All-Star MVP award last year in Atlanta.  

NBA legends Kobe Bryant and Bob Pettit share the record for the most All-Star Game MVP awards, having both picked up the accolade four times.

You might also enjoy:

MVP award renamed in Kobe Byrant's honor

In February 2020, the NBA decided to rename the All-Star MVP award after Kobe Bryant, who tragically passed away with his daughter Gianna in a helicopter accident in Calabasas, California the previous month. "No one embodied All-Star more than Kobe Bryant," explained NBA Commissioner Adam Silver.

Bryant, an 18-time NBA All-Star, claimed the All-Star Game MVP award in 2002, 2007, 2009 and 2011.

Pettit, who lifted the 1958 NBA title with the St Louis Hawks, where he spent his entire career in the league, was voted the All-Star Game’s MVP in 1956, 1958, 1959 and 1962.

Jordan, LeBron among three-time All-Star MVP winners

There are four NBA players who have won the All-Star Game MVP award three times: Oscar Robertson (1961, 1964 and 1969); Michael Jordan (1988, 1996, 1998); Shaquille O’Neal (2000, 2004 and 2009); and LeBron James (2006, 2008 and 2018).

LeBron can pull level with Bryant and Pettit in 2022 All-Star Game

James, team captain in his 18th All-Star Game, has the opportunity to draw level with Bryant and Pettit in Sunday’s 2022 All-Star Game in Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse in Cleveland, Ohio.

Team LeBron takes on Team Durant in the 71st edition of the fixture with the game scheduled to tip-off at 8pm ET / 5pm PT.

2022 All-Star: live with AS USA

You can also follow the 2022 All-Star Game right here on AS USA with our live-text coverage. We’ll be building up to the game in Cleveland from about an hour ahead of tip-off, before talking you through all the action as it unfolds.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?