Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Here’s how to read ‘Game of Thrones’ and ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ in chronological order

We order the main books of the ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ saga and other books set in the ‘Game of Thrones’ universe.

La Casa del Dragón

‘Game of Thrones’ continues to beat its heart in the extensive catalogue of HBO greats. The production company, after a controversial ending among fans, decided to extend its universe on the small screen with a number of spin-offs throughout Westeros.

The latest project that we’ve been introduced to is ‘The House of the Dragon’. In it we learn how the Targaryens dominated the iron throne, just like George R.R. Martin captured in his novel, ‘Fire and Blood’.

What is the correct order to read all of the ‘Game of Thrones’ universe books?

But what about the author’s original written work? Well, luckily we’re here to tell you everything you need to know to follow the saga in order.

We have chosen to separate the main novels (except ‘Fire and Blood’) from the three stories from ‘Dunk and Egg Tales’, which function as independent prequels to ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’.

That’s right: George R.R. Martin hasn’t just explored his fantasy universe in the main novels. Over the years, he has written prequel stories, known as the ‘Dunk and Egg Tales’. There are three novels that have also been grouped into a single volume, ‘A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms: Tales of Dunk and Egg’ (2015).

Game of Thrones has had huge media success, spinning off in various directions.
Full screen
Game of Thrones has had huge media success, spinning off in various directions.

Which ‘Game of Thrones’ book should I read first?

While it might seem controversial, we reckon ‘Blood and Fire’ is the first book to read, even though it is not part of the main ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’ saga.

We have done it this way because chronologically it fits the story, although we have to make it clear that this work is not so much a novel, but a compendium that tells the history of the Targaryens 300 years before the events of the main books.

A Song of Ice and Fire:

  1. Fire and Blood (2018)
  2. A Game of Thrones (1996)
  3. A Clash of Kings (1999)
  4. A Storm of Swords (2000)
  5. A Feast for Crows (2005)
  6. A Dance with Dragons (2011)
  7. A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms (2015)

Tales of Dunk and Egg:

  1. The Hedge Knight (1998)
  2. The Sworn Sword (2003)
  3. The Mystery Knight (2010) 
Full screen

It must be remembered that ‘A Song of Ice and Fire’, as a saga, is incomplete. George R.R. Martin plans to close it as a heptalogy (a seven-part series), but the last two books remain in limbo. ‘The Winds of Winter’ has been delayed multiple times and still has no confirmed release date.

The final volume will be ‘A Dream of Spring’ and will end the story in a different way than what HBO did with the series ‘Game of Thrones’.