NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

NBA

What happens if the basketball is bounced from the floor into the basket?

In Game 4, Luka Doncic threw the basketball into the air, which bounced on the floor, then went inside the basket. Would a bounced-ball shot be counted?

Gidget Alikpala
Update:
In Game 4, Luka Doncic threw the basketball into the air, which bounced on the floor, then went inside the basket. Would a bounced-ball shot be counted?
Kevin JairajUSA TODAY Sports

Game 4 of the Western Conference Finals between the Dallas Mavericks and the Golden State Warriors was remarkable in that the Mavericks were able to fend off what seemed to be an inevitable sweep.

Aside from the survival of Dallas, one incident worth noting in that game was a shot that was made by Luka Doncic. After play had stopped, he threw the basketball (seemingly randomly) into the air, which bounced on the floor and then back over the board and into the basket.

That freak shot was amazing to see, but should it be counted? Well, that particular basket was not valid for two reasons. First, it was made after play had stopped. Second, the ball bounced on the floor out of bounds. Those are the reasons that Doncic did not get points for it.

A bounced ball can be counted

However, a ball that bounced on the floor and goes in is not invalid, per se.

According to NBA’s Rule No. 5 on scoring, “A legal field goal or free throw attempt shall be scored when a ball from the playing area enters the basket from above and remains in or passed through the net.”

So as long as the ball was bounced within the playing area and it enters the basket from above, then a ball that hit the floor then went inside the ring would be valid.

Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?