Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

Other Sports

2022 PGA Championship: Second round tee times, pairings | Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy, Jordan Spieth...

The second round of the 2022 PGA Championship starts at Southern Hills on Friday with Jordan Spieth, Rory McIlroy, Tiger Woods teeing off at 02:36 pm (ET)

May 19, 2022; Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA; Tiger Woods plays a shot from the bunker on the seventh green during the first round of the PGA Championship golf tournament. Mandatory Credit: Michael Madrid-USA TODAY Sports
Michael MadridUSA TODAY Sports

Northern Ireland’s Rory McIlroy sits alone atop the US PGA Championship leaderboard after Thursday’s first round, shooting a five-under 65.

McIlroy was one under on the front-nine after birdies on two, five and nine, and bogeys on six and eight, followed by a clean back-nine that featured four consecutive birdies starting on the 12th hole.

He sits one stroke clear of Will Zalatoris and Tom Hoge as the only players at four under.

Speaking with Sky Sports after his round, McIlroy said he is enjoying the form he has been building since his final round at The Masters, as well as the joy of teeing off with such a decorated playing group.

Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland plays his second shot on the 13th hole during the first round of the 2022 PGA Championship at Southern Hills Country Club on May 19,
Full screen
Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland plays his second shot on the 13th hole during the first round of the 2022 PGA Championship at Southern Hills Country Club on May 19,David CannonGetty

“I have felt comfortable for the last few weeks,” he said. “I took a lot from the final day at Augusta, and played well at the Wells Fargo.

“Once the draw came out I was excited to play in a group like that... I enjoy playing with Tiger [Woods] and Jordan [Spieth]. It’s a pretty comfortable group for all of us... we all know each other pretty well.

“It was a great day, and great to get off to a good start in a major for a change. My game is in good shape, so it’s just a matter of executing the shots like I know I can.”

Tiger not 100%

It was a tougher day for Woods, who finished four over after bogeys on three of the first four holes. Speaking to Sky after wrapping up, he said he was far from 100 per cent, but he is not throwing in the towel.

“Physically I have felt better – emotionally I’ve actually felt better too,” he said. “It was frustrating.

“I got off to a great start... but I did not keep it going… that’s not normally how I play, but it’s how it was.”

Tiger Woods of the US taps in on the first hole during the first round of the 2022 PGA Championship golf tournament at the Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, Oklahoma
Full screen
Tiger Woods of the US taps in on the first hole during the first round of the 2022 PGA Championship golf tournament at the Southern Hills Country Club in Tulsa, OklahomaTANNEN MAURYEFE

Justin Thomas birdied the 18th to grab a share of fourth, in a three-man group with Matt Kuchar and Mexico’s Abraham Ancer at three under.

A number of exciting international contenders finished Thursday’s round at two under, including Australian Cameron Smith, American Xander Schauffele, England’s Matt Fitzpatrick and the Chilean pair of Joaquin Neimann and Mito Pereira.

One further shot back at one under is last week’s AT&T Byron Nelson winner Lee Kyoung-hoon, in a packed bunching including Tony Finau, Charl Schwartzel and Talor Gooch.

Max Homa, Victor Hovland and Shane Lowry highlight the logjam at even par, while some of the tournament favourites are at one over, namely Scottie Scheffler and Collin Morikawa.

John Daly was a pleasant surprise with a competitive score of two over, finishing tied with Spieth, Hideki Matsuyama and Keegan Bradley.

Jon Rahm was disappointing at three over, as was Brooks Koepka at five over, and the ascending pair of Corey Conners and Patrick Cantlay at six over.

Day 2: 2022 PGA Championship tee times (ET)

Tee No. 1

8:00 a.m. – Brandon Bingaman, Talor Gooch, Ryosuke Kinoshita

8:11 a.m. – Tim Feenstra, Anirban Lahiri, Kyoung-Hoon Lee

8:22 a.m. – Rich Beem, Jesse Mueller, Alex Cejka

8:33 a.m. – Russell Knox, Seamus Power, Scott Stallings

8:44 a.m. – Jason Kokrak, Corey Conners, Christiaan Bezuidenhout

8:55 a.m. – Martin Kaymer, Marc Leishman, Keegan Bradley

9:06 a.m. – Zach Johnson, Russell Henley, Cameron Champ

9:17 a.m. – Webb Simpson, Branden Grace, Henrik Stenson

9:28 a.m. – Sepp Straka, J.J. Spaun, Adam Schenk

9:39 a.m. – Matthew Wolff, Joohyung Kim, Keith Mitchell

9:50 a.m. – Chad Ramey, Austin Hurt, Lucas Herbert

10:01 a.m. – Tyler Collet, Chan Kim, Maverick McNealy

10:12 a.m. – Luke List, Paul Dickinson, Patton Kizzire

10:17 a.m. – Jared Jones, Aaron Wise, Joel Dahmen

1:30 p.m. – Ryan Palmer, Robert MacIntyre, Alex Noren

1:41 p.m. – Adri Arnaus, Colin Inglis, Jinichiro Kozuma

1:52 p.m. – Mackenzie Hughes, Michael Block, Sadom Kaewkanjana

2:03 p.m. – Hideki Matsuyama, Xander Schauffele, Tony Finau

2:14 p.m. – Tyrrell Hatton, Denny McCarthy, Max Homa

2:25 p.m. – Viktor Hovland, Will Zalatoris, Cameron Smith

2:36 p.m. – Jordan Spieth, Rory McIlroy, Tiger Woods

2:47 p.m. – Patrick Reed, Justin Rose, Bubba Watson

2:58 p.m. – Kevin Na, Lucas Glover, Daniel van Tonder

3:09 p.m. – Cameron Young, Sam Burns, Davis Riley

3:20 p.m. – Francesco Molinari, Lee Westwood, Gary Woodland

3:31 p.m. – Brian Harman, Ryan Vermeer, Oliver Bekker

3:42 p.m. – Dylan Newman, Lanto Griffin, Laurie Canter

Tee No. 10

8:05 a.m. – Ryan Brehm, Wyatt Worthington II, Min Woo Lee

8:16 a.m. – Nicolai Hojgaard, Sean McCarty, Justin Harding

8:27 a.m. – Cameron Tringale, Hudson Swafford, Adam Hadwin

8:38 a.m. – Shane Lowry, Brooks Koepka, Adam Scott

8:49 a.m. – Dustin Johnson, Patrick Cantlay, Justin Thomas

9:00 a.m. – Jason Day, Rickie Fowler, Harold Varner III

9:11 a.m. – Jon Rahm, Collin Morikawa, Scottie Scheffler

9:22 a.m. – Daniel Berger, Louis Oosthuizen, Ian Poulter

9:33 a.m. – Kevin Kisner, Tommy Fleetwood, Billy Horschel

9:44 a.m. – Sergio Garcia, Charl Schwartzel, Matthew Fitzpatrick

9:50 a.m. – Chad Ramey, Austin Hurt, Lucas Herbert

9:55 a.m. – Harry Higgs, Joaquin Niemann, Erik van Rooyen

10:06 a.m. – Alex Beach, Bernd Wiesberger, Jhonattan Vegas

1:25 p.m. – John Daly, Shaun Micheel, Y.E. Yang

1:36 p.m. – Takumi Kanaya, Matthew Borchert, Troy Merritt

1:47 p.m. – Dean Burmester, Kyle Mendoza, Chris Kirk

1:58 p.m. – Nic Ishee, Mito Pereira, Sam Horsfield

2:09 p.m. – Kevin Streelman, Shaun Norris, Carlos Ortiz

2:20 p.m. – Matt Kuchar, Cameron Davis, Rikuya Hoshino

2:31 p.m. – Stewart Cink, Jason Dufner, Padraig Harrington

2:42 p.m. – Kramer Hickok, Abraham Ancer, Thomas Pieters

2:53 p.m. – Richard Bland, Matt Jones, Garrick Higgo

3:04 p.m. – Beau Hossler, Tom Hoge, Si Woo Kim

3:15 p.m. – Shawn Warren, Pablo Larrazabal, Ryan Fox

3:26 p.m. – Zac Oakley, Yuki Inamori, Sebastián Muñoz

3:37 p.m. – Brendan Steele, Casey Pyne, Bio Kim