NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


América set to participate in their 38th playoff since the introduction of Apertura/Clausura system

On five occasions, Las Águilas have been crowned and six times the club has suffered the curse of the regular season winner

Club America
Christopher HanewinckelUSA TODAY Sports

Since the implementation of the short tournaments (Apertura and Clausura) in winter of 1996, the Águilas del América will play in their thirty-eighth playoff in the history of the short tournaments.

On the 38 times América have advanced to the postseason stage, all bar one was a direct qualification with the 2007 Apertura tournament seeing the side fall to Monarcas Morelia in the playoff qualification (repechaje).

Full screen

In their five Liga MX wins since the introcuction of the Apertura and Clausura seasons, Las Águilas have been crowned five times, once as overall leader in the regular season (Apertura 2014), twice as the second place team (Apertura 2018 and Clausura 2013) with the Clausura 2005 title came from the team finishing in third place overall. The Verano 2002 win came with the side winning the title from eighth place in the competition.