NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Barcelona’s Gavi wins 2022 Golden Boy award

The Barça and Spain youngster has been chosen as the calendar year’s best under-21 player, succeeding club-mate Pedri as the award winner.

The Barça and Spain youngster has been chosen as the calendar year’s best under-21 player, succeeding club-mate Pedri as the award winner.
Alex CaparrosGetty Images

Barcelona midfielder Gavi has won the 2022 Golden Boy award, which recognises the calendar year’s outstanding Europe-based men’s soccer player under the age of 21.

Gavi emulates Pedri’s Golden Boy, Kopa Trophy double

The 18-year-old succeeds Barça team-mate Pedri as the winner of the prize, which has been organised by the Italian newspaper Tuttosport since 2003.

The news comes four days after Gavi scooped France Football’s Kopa Trophy, given to the best under-21 men’s player in the 2021/22 season. Handed out as part of the Ballon d’Or gala, the Kopa Trophy was also won by Pedri 12 months ago.

Gavi will collect the Golden Boy award in a ceremony in Turin on 7 November.

He clinched the accolade, which is chosen in a vote involving fans and journalists, ahead of Real Madrid’s Eduardo Camavinga, Borussia Dortmund’s Jude Bellingham and Bayern Munich’s Jamal Musiala.

A regular for club and country

Since making his first-team debut for Barça in August 2021, Gavi has established himself as a regular both for the Blaugrana and Spain.

The midfielder, who has scored twice in 61 appearances for Barça, has been capped 12 times by Spain boss Luis Enrique, netting once for La Roja.

Gavi’s Golden Boy win sees him follow in the footsteps not only of Pedri, but other stars such as Erling Haaland, Kylian Mbappé, Lionel Messi and Wayne Rooney.

Previous Golden Boy winners

  • 2021: Pedri
  • 2020: Erling Haaland
  • 2019: João Félix
  • 2018: Matthijs de Ligt
  • 2017: Kylian Mbappé
  • 2016: Renato Sanches
  • 2015: Anthony Martial
  • 2014: Raheem Sterling
  • 2013: Paul Pogba
  • 2012: Isco
  • 2011: Mario Götze
  • 2010: Mario Balotelli
  • 2009: Alexandre Pato
  • 2008: Anderson
  • 2007: Sergio Agüero
  • 2006: Cesc Fàbregas
  • 2005: Lionel Messi
  • 2004: Wayne Rooney
  • 2003: Rafael van der Vaart

Benzema, Putellas also honoured

In a press conference in Palermo on Friday, Tuttosport also announced Karim Benzema and Alexia Putellas among the winners of a host of other awards.

Benzema, who won the 2022 Men’s Ballon d’Or on Monday, was confirmed as the recipient of the Golden Player Man prize, while Barcelona and Spain’s Putellas claimed the Golden Player Woman award.

Putellas received her second consecutive Women’s Ballon d’Or this week.

Madrid chief Florentino Pérez was named Tuttosport’s Best European President, and AC Milan technical director Paolo Maldini picked up the Best European Manager award.

Roma’s José Mourinho and Madrid’s Carlo Ancelotti shared the Targa Pozzo award for the best head coach.

Juventus teenagers Fabio Miretti and Nicole Arcangeli won Best Italian Golden Boy and Best Italian Golden Girl U21, respectively, while Germany’s Jule Brand was announced as the recipient of the Best European Golden Girl prize.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?