Los 40 USA
Sign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Gonzalo Higuaín named MLS Comeback Player of the Year 2022

The MLS recognised the Argentine for his great season with Inter Miami in which he scored 16 goals

Joe Brennan
Estados Unidos
MLS destaca el espíritu guerrero de Higuaín
Twitter @InterMiamiCF

The MLS continues to give out the awards for the shining lights of the 2022 season, which is about to end. This Thursday, it was announced that Gonzalo Higuaín won the MLS Comeback Player of the Year award, beating Jeremy Ebobisse and Kei Kamara in the voting.

The award for the Argentine, who recently announced his retirement, came after he recovered from two injuries and personal issues to become the most important player for Inter Miami in the final stretch of the season..

As part of this incredible comeback from Higuaín, ‘Pipa’ had a great individual campaign: after overcoming the various adversities he went through, he managed to score 16 goals and provide 3 assists during the regular season in the 20 games he played as a starter.

MLS were keen to point out that the Argentine was the best player among the strikers who played at least 1,500 minutes during the season; with 16 goals in 20 matches played he averaged 0.82 goals per game, comfortably making him the most efficient player when it comes to finding the net.

Higuain's adversities throughout the season with Inter Miami

The first big setback for the former player occurred at the beginning of the season. After a great start, a knee injury took him away from the pitch for almost three months, a huge strong blow for the Miami attacker.

However, after his return, Higuaín showed his best form in recent years and began a streak of netting 14 goals until the end of the season, becoming the player with the second-highest tally between the month of July and October.

The recent winners of the MLS Comeback Player of the Year award

  • 2021 - Carles Gil - New England Revolution
  • 2020 - Bradley Wright Phillips - LAFC
  • 2019 - Jordan Morris - Seattle Sounders
  • 2018 - Gyasi Zardes - Columbus Crew
  • 2017 - Clint Dempsey - Seattle Sounders
  • 2016 - Chris Pontius - Philadelphia Union
  • 2015 - Tim Melia - Sporting Kansas City