NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


How many USWNT players have ever won the Best FIFA Football Award?

The United States women have dominated the international game over the years and have had global superstars picking up individual awards along the way.

Alex Morgan sobre Australia-Nueva Zelanda 2023: “Será la mejor Copa del Mundo”

Are you ready for the Best FIFA Football Awards 2022? Up for grabs amongst the prizes once again is that for the Best Women’s Player of 2022, and the finalists have been confirmed as England’s Beth Mead, Spain’s Alexia Putellas, who won it last year, and Alex Morgan from the United States. If Morgan was to win it, how many Americans would that make it on the list of winners? We take a look...

It’s worth noting that Morgan herself is yet to take home this particular individual award. That said, she did come mightily close in 2019 when she fell just four votes short of compatriot Megan Rapinoe. Since then, representatives of England and Spain have won the prize, but from the start of the century, in its various forms, a player from the USWNT has been crowned the world’s best on six occasions.

Related articles:

United States forward Megan Rapinoe celebrates with forward Alex Morgan after scoring against Germany.
Full screen
United States forward Megan Rapinoe celebrates with forward Alex Morgan after scoring against Germany.Sam NavarroUSA TODAY Sports

Women’s player of the year (all formats):

Year Name Country

2021 Alexia Putellas Spain

2020 Lucy Bronze England

2019 Megan Rapinoe USA

2018 Marta Brazil

2017 Lieke Martens The Netherlands

2016 Carli Lloyd USA

2015 Carli Lloyd USA

2014 Nadine Keßler Germany

2013 Nadine Angerer Germany

2012 Abby Wambach USA

2011 Homare Sawa Japan

2010 Marta Brazil

2009 Marta Brazil

2008 Marta Brazil

2007 Marta Brazil

2006 Marta Brazil

2005 Birgit Prinz Germany

2004 Birgit Prinz Germany

2003 Birgit Prinz Germany

2002 Mia Hamm USA

2001 Mia Hamm USA

What are the Best FIFA Football Awards?

The Ballon d’Or was the individual awards ceremony, run by France Football, that captured the imagination each year, but FIFA executives have a penchant for glitz and glamour and set up their ‘Best’ version which has been going since 2016. Here’s how the organisation itself describes it.

‘The Best FIFA Football Awards annually honour the most outstanding members of the world’s most popular sport. They not only represent the game’s highest honour for coaches and footballers, but are a celebration in which football fans are recognised - and play a vital and active part ... with their votes helping to crown the best players and coaches in men’s and women’s football. The FIFA Fan Award was also given out for the first time to honour outstanding gestures from supporters.’

You can follow all the Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony action as it happens on Monday right here on AS USA. Our very own Paul Reidy will be taking you through the proceedings, from elaborate entrances on the red carpet to glorious gong lifting once the votes have been announced. You’ll not want to miss it...


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?