Messi World Cup final penalty for Argentina: Dembélé “really stupid”
Endorsing World Cup final referee Szymon Marciniak’s decision to award Argentina a penalty, AS resident ref Eduardo Iturralde was critical of Ousmane Dembélé.
France’s Ousmane Dembélé gave away a “really stupid” penalty in Sunday’s 2022 World Cup final against Argentina, says AS refereeing expert Eduardo Iturralde González.
Argentina take lead through Messi penalty
In the 23rd minute of the clash at Lusail Stadium, Argentina’s Ángel di María fell under Dembélé's challenge in the penalty area, and match referee Szymon Marciniak had no hesitation in pointing to the spot.
Argentina captain Lionel Messi promptly beat France counterpart Hugo Lloris from the spot - the Paris Saint-Germain forward netting his sixth goal of the tournament in Qatar.
“A trip he’s tried to cover up” - AS resident ref on Dembélé tackle
Endorsing Marciniak’s decision to award a penalty, former FIFA referee Iturralde González said: “It’s a really stupid penalty. A trip he’s tried to cover up. If you’re running just behind someone, what’s very likely to happen is the person in front is going to trip over your legs.”
Just under a quarter of an hour later, Di María doubled the Argentines’ lead, finishing off a flowing attacking move with a low strike into the corner.
Dembélé subbed in nightmare first half
Dembélé and France team-mate Olivier Giroud were both substituted before half time, Les Bleus’ head coach Didier Deschamps sending on Randal Kolo Muani and Marcus Thuram in their place.
Argentina vs France: live with AS USA
You can follow live-text coverage of the 2022 World Cup final between Argentina and France with AS USA. Joe Brennan is on hand with minute-by-minute commentary of the action at Lusail.
AS USA stories - Messi’s date with destiny:
Video - The World Cup 2022 outtakes:
To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?