What did USWNT’s Alex Morgan say about NWSL refereeing after San Diego Wave loss?
San Diego Wave forward Morgan was very unhappy with a penalty call in her team’s 2-1 NWSL defeat to the Kansas City Current this weekend.
An angry Alex Morgan has hit out at the match officials after she was a denied a penalty in the San Diego Wave’s NWSL defeat to the Kansas City Current on Saturday.
“In what world is this not a penalty?”
The USWNT star felt she should have had a first-half spot-kick for a robust tackle by Kansas City defender Stine Ballisager Pedersen, but neither referee Mathew Corrigan nor the VAR deemed the challenge illegal.
“In what world is this not a penalty and red card, or even foul?” Morgan wrote on social media on Sunday, in a post accompanied by video footage of the incident.
“Completely reckless and the leg going in for the tackle doesn’t even get a ball when I cut her? Just glad I saw her coming and didn’t plant on that leg or I’d 100% not be walking today.”
What did San Diego boss Stoney say about penalty?
Speaking in her post-match press conference, Wave head coach Casey Stoney strongly hinted that she was also fuming about the penalty decision.
“I’m not going to give the league any more of my money,” Stoney told reporters, in an apparent reference to a potential fine for criticising NWSL match officials.
The league has already punished the 41-year-old three times this season for negative comments about referees.
Wave second in NWSL after unexpected reverse
First-half goals by Debinha and Kristen Hamilton gave Kansas City a surprise 2-1 win over San Diego, who pulled one back after the break through Sierra Enge.
The result leaves the Wave second in the NWSL regular-season standings - two points behind leaders Portland Thorns - while the Current lifted themselves off the bottom with their victory at Snapdragon Stadium.