Los 40 USA
NewslettersSign in to commentAPP
spainSPAINchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

MLS CUP PLAYOFFS

MLS Cup schedule: Which teams are in the Conference finals?

After a weekend of thrilling Conference semi-finals, only four teams remain in the hunt for post-season honours.

Update:
Nov 26, 2023; Houston, Texas, USA; Houston Dynamo midfielder Luis Caicedo (27) and midfielder Adalberto Carrasquilla (20) react after defeating the Sporting Kansas City for the MLS Cup Western Conference Semifinal match at Shell Energy Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Maria Lysaker-USA TODAY Sports
Maria LysakerUSA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

The MLS Cup Playoffs continued over the weekend with four tantalising semi-final fixtures.

The knock-out stage of the playoffs moved onto straight elimination phase with a single-legged format, meaning plenty of drama with teams battling it out for a place in the Conference semi-finals.

On Saturday it was all about the East, with Columbus Crew beating Orlando City and FC Cincinnati advancing past Philadelphia Union. Columbus and Cincinnati will meet next weekend in the Eastern Conference final.

The action continued on Sunday as Houston Dynamo and LAFC booked their places in the Western Conference final. Houston saw off Sporting Kansas City, while LAFC secured an impressive road victory against in-form Seattle Sounders.

Columbus and Cincinnati progress in the East

The semi-final fixtures got off to a thrilling start on Saturday with two dramatic games in the Eastern Conference. First up Orlando City, who finished the regular season as Supporters Shield runners-up, took on Columbus Crew.

Both teams had chances at Exploria Stadium but a second half red card for Rodrigo Schelegel tipped the game in the Crew’s favour. Orlando made it to extra time but goals from Christian Ramirez and Cucho Hernandez secured the victory for Columbus.

Substitute Christian Ramirez gave his side the lead in the semi-final.
Full screen
Substitute Christian Ramirez gave his side the lead in the semi-final.Nathan Ray SeebeckUSA TODAY Sports via Reuters Con

That was followed by a tense game at TQL Stadium as Cincinnati faced Philadelphia Union. After a pulsating 90 minutes the game looked to be heading for extra time, until Cincinnati defender Yerson Mosquera fired home a late winner.

When are the MLS Cup Playoffs Conference finals?

Both Conference finals will take place next weekend, on Saturday, 2 December.

The Eastern Conference final between FC Cincinnati and Columbus Crew will kick off at 6:00pm ET / 3:00pm PT. The Western Conference final will follow at 9:30pm ET / 6:30pm PT, with Houston Dynamo taking on LAFC.

The two Conference winners will then go head-to-head in MLS Cup on Saturday, 9 December. The showpiece final will kick off at 4:00pm ET / 1:00pm PT.


Rules