NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Who has qualified for the Spanish Super Cup and when will it be played?

Valencia and Betis have sealed their spots in the Spanish Super Cup and will be joined in all likelihood by Real Madrid with the fourth place up for grabs.

Ana López Vera
Betis and Valencia secure their spots at the 2023 Spanish Super Cup.

Copa del Rey winners Real Betis and runners-up Valencia have assured themselves of a place in the 2023 Spanish Super Cup finals in Saudi Arabia with the finalists of the domestic cup automatically qualifying for the mini-tournament. In April 2019, the RFEF approved a change of format for the competition to include four teams and the first of these was held in January 2020. The four participants under the new format are made up of the two Copa finalists and the sides that finish in the top two spots in LaLiga – and arrangement that has subsequently led to some controversy – with two semi-finals followed by the final.

Which teams have qualified for the 2023 Spanish Super Cup?

Copa del Rey champions Real Betis and losing finalists Valencia have secured their spots in the 2023 Spanish Super Cup, with the other two participants yet to be decided. Real Madrid have all-but secured the Liga title and are almost assured of their place in Saudi Arabia, while the tussle for the runners-up spot in LaLiga appears to be a three-horse race with Barcelona and Sevilla tied on 63 points and Atlético two points further back on 61. Barça, though, have a game in hand – Sunday night’s encounter against Real Sociedad – giving Xavi’s side an advantage.

Who plays in the Spanish Super Cup Final Four?

  • 2021-22 LaLiga champion
  • 2021-22 LaLiga runners-up
  • 2021-22 Copa winner
  • 2021-22 Copa runners-up

When and where will the 2023 Spanish Super Cup be played?

The exact dates for the competition have yet to be announced but last year the tournament took place in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, from 12-16 January, with Real Madrid beating Athletic 2-0 in the final.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?