The Best 2018: list of candidates for each award

The Best award nominees for best men's player, best female player along with manager award, Fair Play, best fans and FIFPro team of the year.

Candidatos a los premios The Best FIFA 2018.

There are 76 nominations for The Best awards in the Royal Festival Hall in London on Monday night, September 24, 2018. (There are 83 in total but some of them are repeat nominees). This is the complete list of those worthy of a nomination:


The Best men's award as handed out by Fifa

• Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Real Madrid): Ronaldo won his third consecutive Champions League, his fourth in total with Real Madrid and the fifth of his career. He has won the award on five occaions: in 2008 as Fifa's World Player and again in 2013, 2014 as the Ballon d'Or. He also won the last two award given out by Fifa after it was renamed as The Best in 2016 and 2017.

• Luka Modric (Croatia/ Real Madrid): In addition to help Real Madrid to the Champions League title, he helped Croatia to the World Cup final. In August, he won Uefa's equivalent to this award.

• Mohamed Salah (Egypt/ Liverpool): The Egyptian did battle with Lionel Messi for the Golden Boot award with the Argentinian eventually winning. He scored 32 goals in the Premier League and 10 in the Champions League.


The Best women's award as handed out by Fifa

Ada Hegerberg (Norway/ Lyon): Hegerberg had a historic year. She recorded the double winning the Champions League and the league with Lyon along with plenty of goals. She scored 31 in 20 games domestically and 15 in Europe, which is a record.

• Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany/ Lyon): Hegerberg's teammate at Lyon, with Germany she won five of the six games played in qualification to the World Cup in France 2019.

• Marta (Brazil/ Orlando Pride): The Brazilian is a constant in these awards. She won the best player award five times from 2006 to 2009 and in 2010 when it turned into the Ballon d'Or. This year she won the women's Copa America with her country.


The Best manager award

• Zlatko Dalic (Croatia): The Croatian nearly pulled off a miracle at thw World Cup, bringing his country to the final after taking over in October 2017. 

• Didier Deschamps (France): He became the third player to win the World Cup as a player and as a manager when he led France to victory over Croatia in the final in Russia during the summer.

• Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid): What is there to say about the French manager. He helped Real Madrid lift their third Champions League title in as many years last May. He won the award last year and came second in 2016.


The Best female manager award

• Reynald Pedros (Lyon): Guided Lyon to the double with Champions League and league successes.

• Asako Takakura (Japan): Drove her side win the Asian Women's Cup.

• Sarina Wiegman (Holland): Although they still have to play the play-offs, she led Holland to the Netherlands won six of their seven games in qualification with 21 goals for and none against. Winner of the award last year.


The Best goalkeeper award

• Thibaut Courtois (Belgium / Chelsea): Won a bronze medal with Belgium at the World Cup and won goalkeeper of the tournament in Russia too.

• Hugo Lloris (Francia / Tottenham): Captained France to World Cup victory. Maintained a clean sheet in four games in Russia.

• Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark / Leicester): Despite not logging the best season with his club, he was the keeper with highest save percentage at the World Cup and played 575 minutes without conceding a goal for his country.


Fifa's Puskas Award

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid) – Real Madrid-Liverpool. Final Champions League.

Denis Cheryshev (Russia) – Russia-Croatia. World Cup (quarter-finals)

Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK Athens) – AEK-Olympiacos. Greek league.

Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – Juventus-Real Madrid. Champions League (quarter-finals<)

Giorgian de Arrascaeta – Cruzeiro-América. Brazilian league.

Riley McGree (Melbourne City) – Newcastle Jets-Melbourne City.

Lionel Messi (Argentina) – Argentina-Nigeria. World Cup (Group stage)

Benjamin Pavard (France) – France-Argentina. World Cup (quarter-finals)

Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal) – Iran-Portugal. World Cup (Group stage)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) – Liverpool-Everton. Premier League.


Fifa Fan Award

• Sebastián Carrera.— He travelled 3,000 kilometres to watch CD Puerto Montt to play the Chilean Primera B game at Conquimbo Unido. The image of him sitting alone went viral as the most loyal fan in the world.

• Japan and Senegal fans at the World Cup.— The fans of these two countries showed others how it's done when they picked up rubbish after themselves when the final whistle blew in the games they attended.

• Peru fans.— 40,000 fans travelled to Russia to watch their side play in their first ever World Cup.


Fifa Fair Play award

There are no nominations for this and it will be announced on the night as part of the ceremony.

Fifa FIFPro World 11 2018

Goalkeepers (5)

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy / PSG)
Thibaut Courtois (Belgium / Chelsea)
David de Gea (Spain / Manchester United)
Keylor Navas (Costa Rica / Real Madrid)
Marc-André ter Stegen (Germany / Barcelona)

Defenders (20)

Jordi Alba (Spain / Barcelona)
Daniel Carvajal (Spain / Real Madrid)
Giorgio Chiellini (Italy / Juventus)
Dani Alves (Brazil / PSG)
Diego Godín (Uruguay / Atlético)

Mats Hummels (Germany / Bayern)
Joshua Kimmich (Germany / Bayern)
Dejan Lovren (Croatia / Liverpool)
Marcelo (Brazil / Real Madrid)
Yerry Mina (Colombia / Palmeiras – FC Barcelona)

Benjamin Pavard (France / Stuttgart)
Gerard Piqué (Spain / Barcelona)
Sergio Ramos (Spain / Real Madrid)
Thiago Silva (Brazil / PSG)
Kieran Trippier (England / Tottenham)

Samuel Umtiti (France / Barcelona)
Virgil van Dijk (Holland / Liverpool)
Raphael Varane (France / Real Madrid)
Sime Vrsaljko (Croatia / Atlético)
Kyle Walker (England / Manchester City)

Midfielders (15)

Sergio Busquets (Spain / Barcelona)
Casemiro (Brazil / Real Madrid)
Philippe Coutinho (Brazil / Liverpool – Barcelona)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium / Manchester City)
Eden Hazard (Belgium / Chelsea)

Andrés Iniesta (Spain / Barcelona)
Isco (Spain / Real Madrid)
N'Golo Kanté (France / Chelsea)
Toni Kroos (Germany / Real Madrid)
Nemanja Matic (Serbia / Manchester United)

Luka Modric (Croatia / Real Madrid)
Paul Pogba (France / Manchester United)
Ivan Rakitic (Croatia / Barcelona)
David Silva (Spain / Manchester City)
Arturo Vidal (Chile / Bayern)

Attackers (15)

Karim Benzema (France / Real Madrid)
Edinson Cavani (Uruguay / PSG)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal / Real Madrid)
Paulo Dybala (Argentina / Juventus)
Antoine Griezmann (France / Atlético)

Harry Kane (England / Tottenham)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland / Bayern)
Romelu Lukaku (Belgium / Manchester United)
Mario Mandzukic (Croatia / Juventus)
Sadio Mané (Senegal / Liverpool)

Kylian Mbappe (France / PSG)
Lionel Messi (Argentina / Barcelona)
Neymar (Brazil / PSG)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt / Liverpool)
Luis Suárez (Uruguay / Barcelona).