NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

ATLÉTICO-REAL MADRID

Iturralde on Vinicius penalty: "If VAR isn't clear, the ref must make the decision"

The former referee aired his opinion on the controversial penalty awarded to Real Madrid when Giménez brought down Vinicius. Sergio Ramos converted from the spot.

Update:
La entrada de Giménez a Vinicius en el minuto 41 del derbi.

Iturralde González explained to Carrusel Deportivo what he made of the controversial penalty awarded to Real Madrid in the first half of this afternoon's Madrid derby at the Wanda Metropolitano. Match official Juan Martínez Munera pointed to the spot when Giménez brought Vinicius down inside the area in the 40th minute of the match. Television replays were inconclusive on whether the foul occured inside or outside of the area, or whether it was the Atlético defender's second contact which brought Vinicius down.

El árbitro Estrada Fernández y el VAR decidieron que la jugada entre el jugador rojiblanco Giménez y el jugador del Madrid Vinicius era penalti.
El árbitro Estrada Fernández y el VAR decidieron que la jugada entre el jugador rojiblanco Giménez y el jugador del Madrid Vinicius era penalti.
El árbitro Estrada Fernández y el VAR decidieron que la jugada entre el jugador rojiblanco Giménez y el jugador del Madrid Vinicius era penalti.

Iturralde on Vinicius penalty: "If VAR isn't clear, the ref must make the decision"

El árbitro Estrada Fernández y el VAR decidieron que la jugada entre el jugador rojiblanco Giménez y el jugador del Madrid Vinicius era penalti.

Foto:JESUS ALVAREZ ORIHUELADIARIO AS

El árbitro Estrada Fernández y el VAR decidieron que la jugada entre el jugador rojiblanco Giménez y el jugador del Madrid Vinicius era penalti.

Foto:JESUS ALVAREZ ORIHUELADIARIO AS

El árbitro Estrada Fernández y el VAR decidieron que la jugada entre el jugador rojiblanco Giménez y el jugador del Madrid Vinicius era penalti.

Foto:Denis DoyleGetty Images
1 / 3

"Vinicius breaks into the box and is brought down by Giménez, who was booked. The move provoked doubts as to whether the foul took place inside the area or just outside it. In these circumstances, VAR reviews the move in slow motion, but because it's an objective decision, the referee won't consult the television replays. If it's not clear on VAR, it's always down to the referee to make his own decision". The penalty was awarded and converted by Sergio Ramos to put the visitors 1-2 ahead.

Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?