NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Real Madrid trio on LaLiga-dominated Golden Boy shortlist

Atlético Madrid's Joao Félix is also among the 10 LaLiga-based players to be named as nominees for the 2019 Golden Boy award.

Diez jugadores de LaLiga entre los 40 finalistas del Golden Boy
Oscar J. Barroso / AFP7 / Europa

The Spanish league dominates the shortlist for the 2019 Golden Boy award, with LaLiga players making up a quarter of the 40 contenders for the accolade.

Voted for by journalists across Europe, the Golden Boy is given to the calendar year's outstanding European-based footballer under the age of 21.

Vinicius, Joao Félix among Golden Boy favourites

The 10 LaLiga youngsters up for the award include no fewer than three Real Madrid players in Rodrygo Goes, Vinicius Junior and Andriy Lunin (who is currently on a season-long loan at fellow Primera División side Real Valladolid). 

Also among the Spanish top flight's candidates are: Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal), Joao Félix (Atlético Madrid), Ferran Torres and KangIn Lee (Valencia), Jean-Clair Todibo (Barcelona), Alexander Isak (Real Sociedad) and Diego Lainez (Real Betis).

Atlético new boy Joao Félix is among the frontrunners for the 2019 award.
Full screen
Atlético new boy Joao Félix is among the frontrunners for the 2019 award.Charlie Crowhurst/International Champions Cup Getty Images

Alongside fellow nominees such as Jadon Sancho, Phil Foden, Nicolo Zaniolo and 2018 winner Matthijs de Ligt, Vinicius and Joao Félix are rated among the favourites to claim the prize, which was created by Italian newspaper Tuttosport in 2003.

2019 Golden Boy shortlist in full:

Benoit Badiashile (Monaco)
Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal)
Michael Cuisance (Bayern Munich)
Tom Dele-Bashiru (Watford)
Matthijs De Ligt (Juventus)
Krépin Diatta (Club Brugge)
Giuanluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan)
Denis Dragus (Standard Liege)
Eljif Elmas (Napoli)
Florentino Luís (Benfica)
Phil Foden (Manchester City)
Mattéo Guendouzi (Arsenal)
Erling Braut Haaland (RB Salzburg)
Kai Havertz (Bayer Leverkusen)
Alexander Isak (Real Sociedad)
Joao Félix (Atlético Madrid)
Dejan Joveljic (Eintracht Frankfurt)
Boubacar Kamara (Marseille)
Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich)
Moise Kean (Everton)
Justin Kluivert (Roma)
Ibrahima Konaté (RB Leipzig)
Rodrygo Goes (Real Madrid)
Alban Lafont (Nantes)
Diego Lainez (Real Betis)
KangIn Lee (Valencia)
Andriy Lunin (Real Valladolid, on loan)
Donyell Malen (PSV)
Mason Mount (Chelsea)
Nehuén Pérez (Famalicao)
Reiss Nelson (Arsenal)
Abdulkadir Omur (Trabzonspor)
Strahinja Pavlovic (Partizan Belgrade)
Rafael Leao (AC Milan)
Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)
Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)
Luis Sinisterra (Feyenoord)
Jean-Clair Todibo (Barcelona)
Ferran Torres (Valencia)
Nicolo Zaniolo (Roma)


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?