NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

EURO 2020

Oxlade-Chamberlain, Maddison and Hudson-Odoi recalled for England

Gareth Southgate's squad includes call-ups for James Maddison, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain and Callum Hudson-Odoi for the games against Montenegro and Kosovo.

Oxlade-Chamberlain, Maddison and Hudson-Odoi recalled for England

James Maddison and Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain have won recalls to the England squad for this month's Euro 2020 qualifiers.

Leicester City playmaker Maddison was called up by Gareth Southgate in October but withdrew from the squad due to illness, and there was then some controversy when he was pictured in a casino during England's 2-1 defeat to the Czech Republic in Prague. However, his fine club form has seen him handed another chance to make his senior Three Lions debut. Liverpool's Oxlade-Chamberlain also returns after an 18-month absence as a result of his impressive form of the past few weeks. Chelsea winger Callum Hudson-Odoi has also been brought back into the senior fold, having featured for the Under-21s last month.

Full screen

Grealish, Dele Alli and Lingard excluded

There is no room for Aston Villa midfielder Jack Grealish, while Tottenham's Dele Alli and Manchester United's Jesse Lingard have failed to win back their places. Chelsea midfielder Mason Mount is included despite concern about an ankle injury, while Manchester City centre-back John Stones also returns.

England face Montenegro at Wembley on 14 November needing only a point to secure their place at the Euro 2020 finals - it will be a landmark occasion for the Three Lions, who celebrate their 1000th game at full international level. Southgate's men then take on Kosovo in their final Group A match on 17 November 17. England top Group A on 15 points, three points ahead of the Czech Republic.

The full England squad

Tom Heaton (Aston Villa), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley); Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Leicester City), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Danny Rose (Tottenham), John Stones (Manchester City), Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid); Ross Barkley (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Everton), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Maddison (Leicester City), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Liverpool), Declan Rice (West Ham), Harry Winks (Tottenham); Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Callum Wilson (Bournemouth).


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?