NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


Copa del Rey: Atlético draw Cornellà as Barcelona, Real Madrid get byes

Atlético Madrid will take on Cornellè in the second round of the 2020/21 Copa del Rey, while Barça and Real Madrid were among four clubs given byes.

Copa del Rey: Atlético draw Cornellà as Barcelona, Real Madrid get byes
Getty Images

Atlético Madrid have been drawn against third-tier side Cornellà in the second round of the 2020/21 Copa del Rey.

Diego Simeone's men will head to Catalonia for the match on 6 January, just three days after they face Alavés in LaLiga.

Atleti beat Cardassar 3-0 in the previous round to reach this stage, at which teams from the top flight cannot yet be drawn against each other.

Spanish Super Cup teams get Copa del Rey bye until third round

Barcelona, Real Madrid, Athletic Club and Real Sociedad were all given byes to the next round as they will be competing in the Spanish Super Cup early next month.

The draw was designed so that LaLiga clubs would face one-off matches against teams from below the second tier, with all those games taking place at the home grounds of those lower-ranked sides.

Valencia will face Yeclano, Sevilla take on Linares and Real Betis will play Mutilvera.

Eibar head to Las Rozas, Villarreal will meet Zamora or Logroñés and Real Valladolid must take on Marbella.

Oviedo, meanwhile, must make a journey of more than 983 kilometres to face Málaga.

The matches will take place on 5, 6 and 7 January, with the draw for the next round on 8 January.

Copa del Rey second-round draw in full:

Las Rozas vs Eibar
Mutilvera vs Real Betis
Alcoyano vs Huesca
Zamora or Logroñés vs Villarreal
Marbella vs Real Valladolid
Ibiza vs Celta Vigo
Yeclano vs Valencia
Cultural Leonesa vs Granada
Poblense or Olot vs Osasuna
Linares vs Sevilla
Portugalete vs Levante
Cordoba vs Getafe
Deportivo La Coruña vs Deportivo Alavés
Cornellà vs Atlético Madrid
Pontevedra vs Cádiz
La Nucía vs Elche
Socuellamos vs Leganés
Amorebieta vs Sporting Gijón
Peña vs Sabadell
Haro or Linense vs Rayo Vallecano
Burgos vs Espanyol
Navalcarnero vs Las Palmas
Numancia vs Almería
Alcorcón vs Real Zaragoza
Castellón vs Tenerife
Fuenlabrada vs Mallorca
Málaga vs Real Oviedo
Girona vs Lugo


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?