Brazil BRA
4
Richarlison 6', 21', 29', Paulo Henrique 94'
Germany ALE
2
Nadiem Amiri 56', Ragnar Ache 83', Arnold 62'
Full-time

OLYMPIC GAMES | SOCCER

Brazil U23 vs Germany U23: times, TV and how to watch online

All the information you need on how and where to watch Brazil U23 take on Germany U23 in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games soccer tournament on Thursday.

Brazil U23 vs Germany U23: times, TV and how to watch online

The finalists of the 2016 Olympic Games, Brazil Under-23s and Germany Under 23-s, will go head-to-head in one of the most anticipated games on Thursday in the opening match of their respective Group D campaigns.

**Follow all the action between Brazil and Germany live**

Five years earlier, the Brazilian squad, which has qualified for seven of the last nine Olympic Games, won the gold medal for the first time after defeating Germany on penalties at the Maracana stadium. Brazil have only failed once to win a medal since 1976.

Two giants collide in the opener

Germany will also be looking at the medals, although they haven’t been able to make a lot of noise in the Olympic tournament over the years. East Germany won the gold in 1976, while the West secured the bronze medal 12 years later in Seoul.

Now current coach Stefan Kuntz, under whom Germany have reached three successive Under-21 Euros, will try to guide the European squad to Olympic glory with a roster with plenty of Bundesliga experience.

Paulinho, Richarlison and Cunha are expected to be in the forward line for Brazil, while Germany will try to counterattack with the trio of Richter, Kruse and Amiri up front.

What time does Brazil vs Germany kick off?

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games soccer match between Brazil and Germany will kick off at the Nissan Stadium, Yokohama, on Thursday 22 July 2021 at 7:30 am EDT and 4:30 am PDT.

That’s 13:30 pm CEST and 12:30 pm UK time.

Find out what time Brazil vs Germany starts if you’re elsewhere in the world.

Where can I watch Brazil vs Germany in the US and UK?

In the US and UK, the following television channels and online services will be broadcasting Brazil vs Germany:

US: Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, NBC Sports App, NBCOlympics.com, USA Network, Telemundo.

UK: EuroSport Player UK, EuroSport 1 UK, discovery+, BBC Red Button.

Find out who is showing Brazil vs Germany elsewhere in the world.

Brazil vs Germany: live AS English coverage

You’ll also be able to follow live-text coverage of Brazil vs Germany right here at AS English. We'll be building up to the game from about an hour ahead of kick-off, before taking you through the action as it unfolds.

Standings

Grupo D PT PJ PG PE PP
1 3 1 1 0 0
2 0 0 0 0 0
3 0 0 0 0 0
4 0 1 0 0 1
Grupo D PT PJ PG PE PP
1 3 1 1 0 0
2 0 0 0 0 0
3 0 0 0 0 0
4 0 1 0 0 1