Mexico MEX
4
Ernesto Vega 46', Francisco Córdova 54', Carlos Antuna 79', Eduardo Aguirre 90'
France FRA
1
Gignac 68' (p)
Full-time

OLYMPIC GAMES | SOCCER

Mexico U23 vs France U23: times, TV and how to watch online

All the information you need on how and where to watch Mexico U23 take on France U23 in the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games soccer tournament on Thursday.

0
Mexico U23 vs France U23: times, TV and how to watch online

The two favorites to progress from Group A, France and Mexico, will look for their first win in the soccer Olympic tournament on Thursday in Chofu.

Follow Mexico U23 vs France U23 live online: scores, stats and updates, 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

El Tri will look to repeat their success in London 2012, where they won the gold medal after defeating Brazil at Wembley. All but two members of the Central American 22-man roster play in the Mexican league and most of them have previously featured in the senior squad.

During the run-up to this Games, Gerardo Martino’s men have gone unbeaten through three friendly games, beating both Australia and Romania and drawing 1-1 with Saudia Arabia.

The 2012 gold medalists vs the 2018 world champions

Meanwhile, France have had great success at international level (two World Cups, two Euros and a couple of Confederations Cups), but they have only been able to win the gold medal at the 1984 Olympics. Since then they have been absent without leave and they last qualified in 1996.

France's rising stars haven’t travelled to Japan, as some of them already played at the European Championship and others have been withdrawn by their club sides, meaning that most of Sylvain Ripoll’s squad is full of Ligue 1 players.

Ripoll, who led Les Bleus to the semi-finals of the 2019 European Under-21 Championships, which earned Olympic qualification, will try to beat the odds and make it to the final round in his quest for the gold medal.

What time does Mexico vs France kick off?

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games soccer match between Mexico and France will kick off at the Ajinomoto Stadium, on Thursday 22 July 2021 at 4:00 am EDT and 1:00 am PDT.

That’s 10:00 am CEST and 9:00 am UK time.

Find out what time Mexico vs France starts if you’re elsewhere in the world.

Where can I watch Mexico vs France in the US and UK?

In the US and UK, the following television channels and online services will be broadcasting Mexico vs France:

US: Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, NBCOlympics.com, USA Network, NBC Sports App, Telemundo.

UK: EuroSport Player UK, BBC Red Button, EuroSport 1 UK, discovery+.

Find out who is showing Mexico vs France elsewhere in the world.

Mexico vs France: live AS English coverage

You’ll also be able to follow live-text coverage of Mexico vs France right here at AS English. We'll be building up to the game from about an hour ahead of kick-off, before taking you through the action as it unfolds.