LATIN GRAMMYS

Which artists have won the most Latin Grammy Awards in history?

The 2021 Latin Grammys, the 22nd edition of the music awards ceremony, take place at Las Vegas' MGM Grand Garden Arena on Thursday.

0
Which artists have won the most Latin Grammy Awards in history?
GABRIEL BOUYS AFP via Getty Images

The 2021 Latin Grammys take place in Las Vegas on Thursday, as the Latin Recording Academy hands out what it describes as the “preeminent international honor and the only peer-selected award celebrating excellence in Latin music” in a total of 53 categories.

Held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena, the event is split into two parts: the Latin Grammy Premiere (4pm ET/1pm PT), where 45 of the awards on offer will be given out, and the Latin Grammy Awards (8pm ET/5pm PT).

Take a look at the full list of award nominees at the 2021 Latin Grammys.

Check out who is performing at the 2021 Latin Grammys.

Who is the most Latin Grammy Awards?

René Pérez Joglar, known as Residente, holds the record for the most Latin Grammy wins, having scooped 27 awards at the gala. The Puerto Rican rapper and singer’s haul includes two Albums of the Year, two Records of the Year and one Song of the Year.

Residente is followed by Eduardo Cabra, better known as Visitante, who has 24, and Alejandro Sanz and Juanes, who have 23 each.

The most successful female artist in Latin Grammy history is Natalia Lafourcade, with 14 award wins - including one Song of the Year, one Album of the Year and one Record of the Year - ahead of Shakira on 12 and Rosalía on eight.

The most award wins by a group is the 22 earned by Puerto Rican band Calle 13.

Latin Grammys: how to watch

Presented by Kany García and Carolina Dieckmann, the Latin Grammy Premiere is being broadcast on Facebook and YouTube.

TV viewers in the US will be able to watch the Latin Grammy Awards, hosted by Ana Brenda Contreras, Carlos Rivera and Roselyn Sánchez, on Univisión.