LIGA MX

Liga MX 2021 playoffs quarter finals: when will the return leg games be played?

Both opening games of the quarter-final stage Liga MX Apertura 2021 ended goalless with the Puebla-Leon and Santos Laguna-Tigres games to be played on Thursday.

0
Liga MX 2021 playoffs quarter finals: when will the return leg games be played?
JULIO CESAR AGUILAR AFP

With both the PUMAS-Club América and Monterrey-Atlas quarter finals ending goalless, the attention turns to the other two Liga MX Apertura quarter-final ties as Santos Laguna face Tigres UNAL and Puebla play Leon.

Sin tituloMatias Kranevitter (R) of Monterrey and with Julian Quinones (L) of Atlas eye the ball during the Mexican Apertura tournament football match at BBVA Bancomer stadium in Monterrey, Mexico, on November 24, 2021. (Photo by Julio Cesar AGUILAR / AFP)

There will be limited time for the players to recover with the second legs for the quarter-finals set to take place on Saturday and Sunday this week and the semi-finals looming next mid-week.

Club América remain the leading contenders to secure the title with 'Las Aguillas' holding the advantage of finishing top of the regular season table.

Liga MX 2021 Apertura: return legs (quarter-final)

Saturday 27 November

20:00 ET/17:00 PT Club América vs Pumas (Azteca 19:00 CST)

21:05 CST Atlas vs Monterrey (Jalisco 21:05 CST)

Sunday 28 November

19:00 ET/16:00 PT Tigres vs Santos Laguna (Nou Camp 18:00 CST)

21:05 ET/18:05 PT León vs Puebla (Universitario 20:05 CST)

*Local time CST - Central Standard Time

The team that finished higher in the league table will advance should games remain tied after both legs. Extra time and penalty kicks will be used only in the final.

The semi-finals are scheduled for 1/2 December with the return legs on 3/4 December with the final dates penciled in for 9/12 December.