NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA


World Cup 2022: What you need to know

Several countries have already qualified for the World Cup 2022 in Qatar, but others are still in the race for a spot. Here's everything you need to know.


The World Cup group stage draw is on Friday, April 1 at 12:00 p.m. ET. The race is on and 19 teams have already qualified.

This week, Europe and Africa will hold their play-off finals and South America and North and Central America will also close out their qualification process. We won't know everything just yet though, as there will still be spaces to fill with the inter-continental playoffs as well as the final between Wales and either Scotland or Ukraine happening in June.

Here are the teams who have qualified for the 2022 World Cup:


Germany, Denmark, France, Belgium, Croatia, Spain, Serbia, England, Switzerland, and the Netherlands.


Brazil, Argentina, Ecuador, and Uruguay


Qatar (hosts), Iran, South Korea, Japan, and Saudi Arabia.

Here are the teams who could still qualify


There are 13 total spots for UEFA. With 10 filled, there are still three available. Two of the three play-off finals will take place this Tuesday, March 29 - Poland vs Sweden and Portugal vs North Macedonia. The last play-off game will be between Wales and the winner of the Scotland vs Ukraine game, which has been postponed due to the Russian invasion on Ukraine. It is tentatively scheduled to happen in June.


There is a possibility of one more team from Conmebol to qualify for the World Cup. Ecuador and Uruguay sealed the last spots and now Peru, Colombia, and Chile will fight for the last spot. The winner will play the OFC qualifying country.


There are five available spots as no one from CAF has secured one yet. That means the winner from each of the next five matches (taking place on Friday, March 25 and Tuesday, March 29) will qualify. The next games are: Egypt vs Senegal, Cameroon vs Algeria, Ghana vs Nigeria, DR Congo vs Morocco, and Mali vs Tunisia.


No teams have qualified yet from Concacaf and there are three spots for the taking. Right now, Canada is in the lead and possibly Panama or Costa Rica could advance to the inter-continental play-off, where they would play the winner of the OFC qualifiers.


Australia is in third place in Group A and will play the team from Group A on June 7. The winner of that game will advance to play in the inter-continental play-off game vs the fifth-place team from Conmebol.


Unlike the other continents, Oceania does not have an automatic qualifying spot. They will have to see what happens in their inter-continental play-offs. The winner will play the fourth-place team in Concacaf.


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?