NewslettersSign inAPP
españaESPAÑAargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAméxicoMÉXICOperúPERÚusa latinoUSA LATINOaméricaAMÉRICA

EL CLÁSICO

Real Madrid have two penalty claims denied against Barcelona

Referee Clos Gomez turned down what appeared to be two clear penalties for Real Madrid against Barcelona at the Camp Nou in LaLiga, a foul by Mascherano on Lucas Vázquez and a Rakitic handball.

Update:
Real Madrid have two penalty claims denied against Barcelona

No penalty for Mascherano's challenge on Vázquez

The first Clásico of the 2016/17 season started with controversy as referee Clos Gómez decided not to award a penalty to Real Madrid when Barcelona's Mascherano brought down Lucas Vázquez in the box after just three minutes of play at the Camp Nou.  

Mascherano challenges Lucas Vázquez in the Barcelona box
Full screen
Mascherano challenges Lucas Vázquez in the Barcelona box

After some decent play from Zidane's side, Lucas Vázquez was released into the box. Mascherano covering ran across the Real Madrid player, knocking him over, but failing to touch the ball. Real Madrid protested furiously but Clos Gómez wasn't interested. 

Rakitic handball in the box not given

Just after, in the 12th minute, from a Modric corner, Rakitic, close to the line and under pressure from Cristiano Ronaldo, cleared the ball using his arm, but Clos Gómez also decided there was no penalty. 

Full screen

Barcelona meanwhile also claimed for two penalties, for handballs from Ramos and Carvajal.

Rules

To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?