Real Madrid

Keylor Navas up for Concacaf player of the year award

The Costa Rica keeper is among the 10 nominees for the prize and his main rivals will be Christian Pulisic and Chicharito Hernández.

Keylor Navas up for Concacaf player of the year award

Concacaf has announced the 10 contenders for the The Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football player of the year award with Real Madrid goalkeeper Keylor Navas among the nominees.

The Costa Rica keeper, first choice under Zinedine Zidane but recently sidelined due to a muscle problem picked up on international duty, lifted the Liga and Champions League titles with his club last season, as well as the Spanish Super Cup and the European Super Cup at the beginning of 2017-18.

Navas also played a key role in his country’s qualification for the 2018 World Cup and his previous Concacaf player of the year award came in 2014 when he was instrumental in Costa Rica’s run to the quarterfinals in Brazil.

There is plenty of competition for the 2017 award, with 2016 winner Bryan Ruiz in the running along with 2015 winner Chicharito Hernández and Christian Pulisic.

Concacaf player of the year award 2017 nominees:

Andre Blake, Jamaica (Philadelphia Union).

Bryan Ruiz, Costa Rica (Sporting Lisbon).

Christian Pulisic, Estados Unidos (Borussia Dortmund).

Clint Dempsey, Estados Unidos (Seattle Sounders).

Franco Jara (Pachuca).

Hirving Lozano, México (PSV Eindhoven).

Chicharito Hernández, México (West Ham).

Jozy Altidore, Estados Unidos (Toronto FC).

Keylor Navas, Costa Rica (Real Madrid).