NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

Fifa Puskas award

FIFA Puskas award 2018/19: nominations confirmed

World football's governing body has announced the final ten players for the best goal of the season award, with Lionel Messi again in the mix.

FIFA Puskas award 2018/19: nominations confirmed

FIFA has announced their 2018/19 Puskas award nominations, with only four of the final 10 coming from Europe's big five leagues.

Messi chips in for Puskas award nomination

The annual gong is handed out to the player deemed to have scored the best goal of the season. Last year this went to Liverpool's Mohamed Salah for his goal against Everton in the Premier League (despite his teammate James Milner poking fun at it), while the same competition provided 2017's winner as Olivier Giroud stunned Crystal Palace with an outrageous effort for Arsenal. The five previous awards went to Mohd Faiz Subri (Penang), Wendell Lira (Goianésia), James Rodriguéz (Colombia), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden) and Miroslav Stoch (Fenerbahçe).

Barcelona's Lionel Messi has a chance to lift the Puskas award for the first time despite, unsurprisingly, being nominated for it six times before. His deftly chipped finish against Real Betis in LaLiga his him on the list.

Puskas award 2019 nominations

Lionel Messi: Real Betis vs. BARCELONA

Matheus Cunha: Bayer Leverkusen vs. RB LEIPZIG

Fabio Quagliarella: SAMPDORIA vs. Napoli

Andros Townsend: Manchester City vs. CRYSTAL PALACE

Amy Rodriguez: UTAH ROYALS vs. Sky Blue FC

Ajara Nchout: CAMEROON WOMEN vs. New Zealand Women

Billie Simpson: Sion Swifts Ladies vs. CLIFTONVILLE LADIES FC

Daniel Zsori: DEBRECEN FC vs. Ferencvaros TC

Juan Fernando Quintero: RIVER PLATE vs. Racing Club

Zlatan Ibrahimovic: Toronto vs. LA GALAXY


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?