NewslettersSign inAPP
spainSPAINargentinaARGENTINAchileCHILEcolombiaCOLOMBIAusaUSAmexicoMEXICOperuPERUlatin usaLATIN USAamericaAMERICA

UEFA Team of the Year

Premier League dominates LaLiga in UEFA Team of the Year list

UEFA have released their shortlist of 50 candidates for the continental 'best XI' and fans have the chance to vote until 9 January 2020.

Premier League dominates LaLiga in UEFA Team of the Year list

UEFA published their list of 50 candidates for their 2019 Team of the Year and the Spanish league didn't do quite as well as it has done in the past.

LaLiga well behind Premier League for UEFA XI

There are only nine LaLiga players in the list, compared to the 24 representative of the Premier League, unsurprising given that the four European finalists were English clubs. Those from the Spanish championship that have been included are Oblak, Ter Stegen, Giménez, Jordi Alba, Piqué, Ramos, De Jong, Hazard and Messi. Another potentially worrying fact, from a Spanish perspective, is the limited presence of Spanish players among the nominees, just seven in total: Azpilicueta, Jordi Alba, Piqué, Ramos, Fabián, Silva and Thiago. There is no room on the list for Benzema, Suárez, Joao Félix or Griezmann.

Obviously | Barça's Lionel Messi makes the shortlist.
Full screen
Obviously | Barça's Lionel Messi makes the shortlist.Irina R. H. / AFP7 / Europa Pres

Football fans around the world are encouraged to vote from Tuesday 26 November for their 2019 Team of the Year through the website. The survey invites all fans to choose their 11 best players from the shortlist 50 playing on the continent, a choice between five goalkeepers, 15 defenders, 15 midfielders and 15 forwards.

The nominees were chosen by the editorial team based on their performances from January to November 2019. Performances in UEFA competitions held a greater weight in the evaluation. The vote on will close on 9 January 2020, and the final decision announced on the same day.

UEFA's full list of 50 nominations


Alisson (Brazil, Liverpool)

Ederson (Brazil, City)

Oblak (Slovenia, Atlético)

Onana (Cameroon, Ajax)

Ter Stegen (Germany, Barcelona)


Alexander-Arnold (England, Liverpool)

Azpilicueta (Spain, Chelsea)

Blind (Holland, Ajax)

De Ligt (Holland, Juventus)

Giménez (Uruguay, Atlético)

Jordi Alba (Spain, Barcelona)

Kimmich (Germany, Bayern)

Koulibaly (Senegal, Napoli)

Laporte (France, Man City)

Piqué (Spain, Barcelona)

Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)

Robertson (Scotland, Liverpool)

Tagliafico (Argentina, Ajax)

Van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool)

Vertonghen (Belgium, Tottenham)


Bernardo Silva (Portugal, Man City)

Bruno Fernandes (Portugal, Sporting)

Silva (Spain, Man City)

De Bruyne (Belgium, Man City)

Di María (Argentina, PSG)

Fabián (Spain, Napoli)

Fabinho (Brazil, Liverpool)

De Jong (Holland, Barcelona)

Henderson (England, Liverpool)

Jorginho (Italy, Chelsea)

Kanté (France, Chelsea)

Thiago (Spain, Bayern)

Van de Beek (Holland, Ajax)

Wijnaldum (Netherlands, Liverpool)

Ziyech (Morocco, Ajax)


Agüero (Argentina, Man City)

Aubameyang (Gabon, Arsenal)

Firmino (Brazil, Liverpool)

Gnabry (Germany, Bayern)

Hazard (Belgium, Real Madrid)

Kane (England, Tottenham)

Lewandowski (Poland, Bayern)

Mané (Senegal, Liverpool)

Mbappé (France, PSG)

Messi (Argentina, Barcelona)

Cristiano (Portugal, Juventus)

Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)

Son (South Korea, Tottenham)

Sterling (England, City)

Tadic (Serbia, Ajax)


To be able to comment you must be registered and logged in. Forgot password?