OLYMPIC GAMES | SOCCER

South Korea U23 vs Mexico U23: times, TV and how to watch online

All the info you need on how tow watch the match between South Korea and Mexico in the quarter-finals of the Tokyo Olympic soccer tournament.

0
South Korea U23 vs Mexico U23: times, TV and how to watch online
Masashi Hara Getty Images

South Korea and Mexico will face off at the Yokohama International Stadium in the Olympic Games quarter finals after El Tri demolished South Africa 3-0 in their final Group A match. The medal places are almost within touching distance so you'll not want to miss this clash to see who makes it into the last four.

South Korea vs Mexico: match preview

Two thumping wins and a loss in the group phase were enough for Mexico to secure their place in the Olympic quarters and they go up against a team in South Korea that they have not scored against since 1948. These two have been pitted together five times in the history of the Games and four of them have been during the group stage, in Atlanta 1996, Athens 2004, London 2012 and Rio 2016. In those four matches El Tri were unable to trouble their opponents’ net and have a record of W0-D2-L2. Not great reading for the CONCACAF side.

Way back in London 1948, however, the Mexican Olympic team was able to score against the Tigers of Asia, although they still ended up on the losing end of a 5-3 quarter-final match. Raúl Cárdenas, Fernando Figueroa and José Ruiz scored for Mexico, but the Asian side booked the ticket to the semi-final.

The fact that Tottenham Hotspur’s influential Son Heung Min did not travel to Tokyo for the Games has not appeared to have bothered their free-flowing style. The likes of Lee Kangin and Hwang Uijo have stepped up as an attacking force, and the Asian side are now looking to outscore another team that focus on scoring in their bid to find a spot on the famous podium.

Read on to find out how you can follow all the action...

What time does South Korea vs Mexico kick off?

The Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games quarter-final soccer match between South Korea and Mexico will kick off at the Yokohama International Stadium on Saturday 31 July 2021 at 7:00 am EDT and 4:00 am PDT.

That’s 1:00 pm CEST and 12:00 pm UK time.

Find out what time South Korea-Mexico starts if you’re elsewhere in the world.

Where can I watch South Korea vs Mexico in the US and UK?

In the US and UK, the following television channels and online services will be broadcasting the South Korea-Mexico match:

US: Telemundo Deportes En Vivo, NBC Sports App, NBCOlympics.com, Telemundo

UK: EuroSport Player UK, discovery+

Find out who is showing South Korea-Mexico elsewhere in the world.

South Korea vs Mexico: live AS English coverage

You’ll also be able to follow live-text coverage of South Korea-Mexico right here on AS English. We'll be building up to the game from about an hour ahead of kick-off, before taking you through the action as it unfolds.